PINE64
Software Compatibility, If on Pi then? - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: Pinebook Pro (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+--- Forum: Linux on Pinebook Pro (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=114)
+--- Thread: Software Compatibility, If on Pi then? (/showthread.php?tid=10085)

Software Compatibility, If on Pi then? - chetchinglo - 06-05-2020

I need a sanity check here.  I'm a novice on my recently received Pinebook Pro, but I was hoping that if a software package is compatible with a raspberry pi ARM architecture, that it would also be compatible on the Pinebook.  Am I wrong here? 

As an example, I installed Calibre from the software center and the program won't start.

Can I add repositories meant for the Pi and have them run on the Pinebook? Clearly I'm in over my head but I'm hoping to at least get a couple pieces of software running to keep learning. 

I should mention I'm running on the recent default Manjaro installation based on kernel version 5.6.0.2.

RE: Software Compatibility, If on Pi then? - Arwen - 06-05-2020

One of the problems that ARM has, that also early x64 had, was multi-library. Meaning when x64 came out, old x86 software would not run if you booted a 64 bit OS. They solved it by having both 32 bit, (x86), and 64 bit, (x64), libraries and support. So you could run any Linux compatible x86 or x64 program, as long as you had all the dependencies.

At present, there does not seem to be this multi-library configuration for ARM, yet. The original Raspberry Pi's were 32 bit ARM. Newer ones support 64 bit ARM. So it's a toss up if the program(s) you want, will work. The original OS for the Pinebook Pros was 32 bit Debian. Now we are shipped with 64 bit Manjaro.