PINE64

Full Version: Programming IOT Stamp with Arduino IDE
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello

I am just getting started with my IOT Stamp. I've managed to get serial communication up and running - I can issue AT commands through Putty and see the stamp's response. However, when I try to upload a program from the Arduino IDE, I get an error:

Code:
java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "/usr/local/bin/openocd": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified

I suspect that is because OpenOCD is not installed because I don't have the SWD debugger, just the Serial Console. Is there any way to program the IOT Stamp through a serial port?

Also - I'm a little confused on how FreeRTOS is involved. Is it running on the IOT Stamp, interpreting the AT commands? If I upload a program from the Arduino IDE (assuming I get it working Blush  ), will that overwrite FreeRTOS? Can it be re-flashed onto the IOT Stamp later?

thx
(10-20-2017, 05:04 PM)dkryder Wrote: [ -> ]have you managed to select a board within the IDE?
https://hackaday.io/project/19163-rtl871...rduino-ide
https://github.com/pvvx/RtlDuino

Yes. I have installed the board info into the Arduino IDE and I have selected the "PADI IOT Stamp" board. The adds an "OpenOCD" option to the tools menu. As I mentioned, AT commands through Putty work fine.
have you thought about manually installing openocd?
Open OCD will need some SWD debugger even if you get it installed. I have not had any experience using the arduino ide to program the PADI, but using the SDK there are a few different debuggers that will work to program the PADI, I have had sucess with the j-link EDU, but I have seen tutorials for using a bus pirate or raspberry pi as a SWD debugger.

**Edit: to clarify I'm saying even though you did not buy an SWD debugger you might already have a device that can function as one.