PINE64

Full Version: Pine64 + waveshare display?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've got a waveshare display 5" which I used with my Raspberry Pi 2. Now i'm wondering if someone has some experience to get this working on the pine64 since I've only got a blank screen without any image via the hdmi. On the Raspberry it was almost like plug-and-play with 'raspbian'.
 
I've got the display powered through the Pi 2 bus, ordered by the gpio layout and the layout on the display.  I do use the Ubuntu mate Image atm.

Is someone able to help me out and is prepared to share knowledge? ^^,
Hi! Did you read http://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=980 for switching resolutions? You have to make sure that the HDMI output matches something your display can support, I am not sure if your display's resolution is a supported mode atm... check here https://github.com/longsleep/sunxi-disp-...tput-names
(06-16-2016, 04:43 PM)iPhyse Wrote: [ -> ]I've got a waveshare display 5" which I used with my Raspberry Pi 2. Now i'm wondering if someone has some experience to get this working on the pine64 since I've only got a blank screen without any image via the hdmi. On the Raspberry it was almost like plug-and-play with 'raspbian'.
 
I've got the display powered through the Pi 2 bus, ordered by the gpio layout and the layout on the display.  I do use the Ubuntu mate Image atm.

Is someone able to help me out and is prepared to share knowledge? ^^,

May able to use when the display siwtch in HDMI mode and please make sure that the  the display can accept 1080p input. This info just based on reading the link that you provided, and not guarantee will work.
(06-16-2016, 05:02 PM)xalius Wrote: [ -> ]Hi! Did you read http://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=980 for switching resolutions? You have to make sure that the HDMI output matches something your display can support, I am not sure if your display's resolution is a supported mode atm... check here https://github.com/longsleep/sunxi-disp-...tput-names

Thanks for your respond. But despite of your references the solution did not work for me, as so far. none of the both options won't display more than a black striped noise:

Code:
cat <<EOF| sudo tee -a /boot/uEnv.txt
optargs=disp.screen0_output_mode=480p //or i
EOF


Code:
sunxi-disp-tool switch -mode 0
sunxi-disp-tool switch -mode 2


But the strange thing is that the pi just works straight ahead..

If I take a view to the config, which are available on the rpi2, the /boot/config.txt would give me the opportunity to set some config according to my hdmi output for my display..

Code:
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1 //disabled
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt 800 480 60 6 0 0 0

resolution 800 x 480,
refresh 60Hz,
aspect ratio 15:9,
no margins,
no interlace,
normal blanking

It doesn't even matter to me if the touch function is working or not.. But only a output to the display is enough Smile
(06-18-2016, 04:00 PM)iPhyse Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-16-2016, 05:02 PM)xalius Wrote: [ -> ]Hi! Did you read http://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=980 for switching resolutions? You have to make sure that the HDMI output matches something your display can support, I am not sure if your display's resolution is a supported mode atm... check here https://github.com/longsleep/sunxi-disp-...tput-names

Thanks for your respond. But despite of your references the solution did not work for me, as so far. none of the both options won't display more than a black striped noise:

Code:
cat <<EOF| sudo tee -a /boot/uEnv.txt
optargs=disp.screen0_output_mode=480p //or i
EOF


Code:
sunxi-disp-tool switch -mode 0
sunxi-disp-tool switch -mode 2


But the strange thing is that the pi just works straight ahead..

If I take a view to the config, which are available on the rpi2, the /boot/config.txt would give me the opportunity to set some config according to my hdmi output for my display..

Code:
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1 //disabled
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt 800 480 60 6 0 0 0

resolution 800 x 480,
refresh 60Hz,
aspect ratio 15:9,
no margins,
no interlace,
normal blanking

It doesn't even matter to me if the touch function is working or not.. But only a output to the display is enough Smile    

i have the same problem. can someone help steer me the right way