Howto run Linux with resolution other than 1080p
#11
(05-17-2016, 12:17 AM)frewind Wrote: I thought that resolution could not be supported as longsleep stated..

I thought he said that the Xenial image has the Kernel already setup and working.

(05-07-2016, 02:40 PM)longsleep Wrote: I just released a new Ubuntu Xenial image (20160507-1) which has the Kernel and tools to read output_mode from uEnv.txt pre-installed.
#12
The readme shows the list of possible supported resolution names. 2160p is indeed on there.
#13
The tool supports many revolutions as its not specific to Pine64. Not all of them are supported n Pine64 (depends on Kernel and the drivers there).
#14
Is it possible to change that in remix os?
#15
Is there any way to do this in lenny.raposo's Debian build?
#16
(07-17-2016, 01:20 AM)illustris Wrote: Is there any way to do this in lenny.raposo's Debian build?

I'd like to know the answer too...

I've got a Motorola Atrix Lapdock, capable of 1366x768, I know it can do that - because both NTC CHIP and LeMaker BananaPI sync to that resolution when hooked up via HDMI.

But Pine64 defaults to 1280x720.

None of those lists (e.g. here : https://github.com/longsleep/sunxi-disp-...tput-names ) seem to mention 1366x768.

I tried some time ago to get Pine doing 1366x768 on a GAEMS portable monitor without success either...

It's a shame, 'cause 1366x768 is not all that uncommon, I've got several laptops with that resolution.
#17
I set my Pine64 to 720p and plugged it into my Motorola Lapdock and the display looked just fine. The lapdock must have stretched the display or something but it didn't look distorted at all. I have the Lapdock 100 if that matters.
#18
(08-24-2016, 10:34 PM)psychedup Wrote: I set my Pine64 to 720p and plugged it into my Motorola Lapdock and the display looked just fine. The lapdock must have stretched the display or something but it didn't look distorted at all. I have the Lapdock 100 if that matters.

Yeah - it looks okay - not blurry or distorted at 720p on the Atrix Lapdock - but - I'd rather the few extra pixels that 1366x768 gives me (and which both NTC CHIP and BananaPI sync to automatically).

I also have a Lapdock 100 (Bionic) but I've never had any success getting to to work with anything...
#19
Issue: System menus appear off viewable screen
Hardware\Software : Pine64, A64-DB-Rev B (1 GB), Ubuntu, 16.04, xenial "Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS" - Longsleep Distro w\Mate - 32 GB MicroSD, HP w2216h LCD Monitor using HDMI cable capable of various resolutions at 10+ years old

Have tried standard 1080p, and five or six resolutions from low to high using the uEnv.txt settings, e.g: optargs=disp.screen0_output_mode=1680x1050p60 but all result in menus off the viewable monitor. There is no hardware setting to shrink the horizontal and vertical of the image to fit using HDMI. Lowering or increasing the resolution has no impact; one setting duplicated the viewable monitor and menu and rendered it unusable. SSH login allowed me to edit the uEnv.txt to change the resolution!

Is there a method to move the menus position using X window settings or configurations such that the position will be lower and\or further into the horizontal \ vertical image area?

Thanks for any direction or ideas.

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c00834092
#20
(08-30-2016, 11:40 PM)wboson Wrote: Is there a method to move the menus position using X window settings or configurations such that the position will be lower and\or further into the horizontal \ vertical image area?

Thanks for any direction or ideas.

One thing that many have done to work-around this problem is to use vnc4server and the vncviewer on the same machine; in other words, you close your normal desktop.  Then you start an X session on your local machine (it will be off the screen too, but we don't care. Then you start a vnc4server on your local machine with default geometry of something reasonable like 1367x768, at position 20,20, and then on the same machine you start the vncviewer on localhost, displaying on your X session you started earlier. The vnc session can be made to be whatever size and location you want it to be.  The reason this works is that X is a networked interface, and that works over unix domain sockets just as well as over the network. 

You will want to play around with the position and geometry settings to get it the way you want it. Another thing, you do not need a desktop up to run this, just an X server for the vncviewer to run in... it does not even have to have a window manager running !
marcushh777    Cool

please join us for a chat @  irc.pine64.xyz:6667   or ssl  irc.pine64.xyz:6697

( I regret that I am not able to respond to personal messages;  let's meet on irc! )


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  NEMS Linux 1.5 Released for A64/A64+, A64-LTS/SOPine, Rock64, RockPro64 (NAGIOS) Baldnerd 4 3,946 03-28-2020, 06:20 PM
Last Post: ty1911
  NEMS Linux for Pine A64 (+) Luke 1 2,328 05-09-2019, 05:42 PM
Last Post: pineadmin
  Pine Board using linux stuck during boot sequence ktaragorn 4 3,048 03-30-2019, 06:48 AM
Last Post: ktaragorn
  Gentoo Linux test image xalius 23 26,586 01-28-2019, 11:05 PM
Last Post: necrose99
  Real-time linux kernel Artyom 45 37,817 09-11-2018, 01:08 AM
Last Post: zzwpine
  linux distribution hazerty 3 2,717 04-01-2018, 02:48 PM
Last Post: dkryder
  Linux Web Server OS harcrow 2 3,035 01-30-2018, 10:26 AM
Last Post: Rustproof
  eta linux image?? firosiro 1 1,760 08-03-2017, 10:05 PM
Last Post: pfeerick
  Can I run Alpine Linux on Pine64? douglasmiranda 3 4,365 08-01-2017, 07:20 AM
Last Post: cztian
Music HOWTO: jackd on Pine64 mauritslamers 1 2,196 06-15-2017, 01:21 PM
Last Post: xalius

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)