postmarketOS/Alpine edge image for the Pinebook Pro
#41
You should not have an alsa.conf (or asound.state) file to make audio work. it uses alsa UCM to set up the mixer. what profiles do you see in the last tab of pavucontrol?
  Reply
#42
(04-29-2020, 01:32 AM)MartijnBraam Wrote: You should not have an alsa.conf (or asound.state) file to make audio work. it uses alsa UCM to set up the mixer. what profiles do you see in the last tab of pavucontrol?
Take a look...


Attached Files
.jpeg   C016C09E-3518-45FC-B4B3-C02DB9E7F67B.jpeg (Size: 19.46 KB / Downloads: 329)
.jpeg   0218EE2C-9645-49F7-872D-A1730E765855.jpeg (Size: 19.22 KB / Downloads: 345)
.jpeg   992C74E6-DB5A-4B84-9EB1-8B065B5BEB86.jpeg (Size: 19.81 KB / Downloads: 338)
.jpeg   01ACEF84-FB3D-44F4-A078-B4345D929F07.jpeg (Size: 20.22 KB / Downloads: 302)
  Reply
#43
It's actually the last tab in pavucontrol. It should list the option in the attachment. If that option is not there then somehow it's not loading UCM


Attached Files
.png   index.png (Size: 23.3 KB / Downloads: 312)
  Reply
#44
(04-29-2020, 02:29 PM)MartijnBraam Wrote: It's actually the last tab in pavucontrol. It should list the option in the attachment. If that option is not there then somehow it's not loading UCM

Sorry about that. Missed that tab. Yes, looks your like your screenshot. "Play high quality music". I'm going to toggle it off and on to see if it has any effect.
  Reply
#45
(04-29-2020, 03:06 PM)digeratus1. Wrote:
(04-29-2020, 02:29 PM)MartijnBraam Wrote: It's actually the last tab in pavucontrol. It should list the option in the attachment. If that option is not there then somehow it's not loading UCM

Sorry about that. Missed that tab. Yes, looks your like your screenshot. "Play high quality music". I'm going to toggle it off and on to see if it has any effect.

@MartijnBraam is there anything else I can do to get sound to work? I even reinstalled to make sure I didn't do something wrong before but it's still not working. Once I get this working I think I can install this on my EMMC.
  Reply
#46
Music 
How to enable bluetooth in GNOME3?

I'm using the default GNOME3 image from March 2020. I upgraded (-a) to kernel 5.6 and have newest packages as of today. When I try to enable bluetooth in gnome-control-center, it remains disabled when option is reopened. There is no /var/log/syslog and dmesg doesn't show anything related. Below is what I got from GNOME when I ran settings with --verbose:

Code:
         Bluetooth:  WARNING: Failed to register object: An object is already exported for the interface org.bluez.Agent1 at /org/gnome/bluetooth/settings
         Bluetooth:    DEBUG: Default adapter changed to: (none)
cc-object-storage:    DEBUG: Creating D-Bus proxy for CcObjectStorage::dbus-proxy(org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.Rfkill,/org/gnome/SettingsDaemon/Rfkill,org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.Rfkill)
cc-object-storage:    DEBUG: Creating D-Bus proxy for CcObjectStorage::dbus-proxy(org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.Rfkill,/org/gnome/SettingsDaemon/Rfkill,org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties)
bluetooth-cc-panel:    DEBUG: Updating airplane mode: BluetoothHasAirplaneMode 1, BluetoothHardwareAirplaneMode 0, BluetoothAirplaneMode 0, AirplaneMode 0
bluetooth-cc-panel:    DEBUG: Default adapter is unpowered, but should be available
         cc-window:    DEBUG: Time to open panel 'Bluetooth': 0.095388s
bluetooth-cc-panel:    DEBUG: Power switched to on

How can I debug this further? Did anyone got bluetooth working with PostmarketOS?
  Reply
#47
(05-05-2020, 07:52 PM)digeratus1. Wrote:
(04-29-2020, 03:06 PM)digeratus1. Wrote:
(04-29-2020, 02:29 PM)MartijnBraam Wrote: It's actually the last tab in pavucontrol. It should list the option in the attachment. If that option is not there then somehow it's not loading UCM

Sorry about that. Missed that tab. Yes, looks your like your screenshot. "Play high quality music". I'm going to toggle it off and on to see if it has any effect.

@MartijnBraam is there anything else I can do to get sound to work? I even reinstalled to make sure I didn't do something wrong before but it's still not working. Once I get this working I think I can install this on my EMMC.

I just dd'd it to my eMMC, now the pinebook boots fine from eMMC without SD card, but the keyboard and trackpad are both dead Sad
Tried to attach USB mouse, no luck either.
UPDATE: Now tried to reboot from SD card, same issue!
Maybe there was a hidden partition on the eMMC with built-in firmwares which I got overwritten?

Thanks!
  Reply
#48
(05-22-2020, 02:14 AM)pmjohann Wrote:
(05-05-2020, 07:52 PM)digeratus1. Wrote:
(04-29-2020, 03:06 PM)digeratus1. Wrote:
(04-29-2020, 02:29 PM)MartijnBraam Wrote: It's actually the last tab in pavucontrol. It should list the option in the attachment. If that option is not there then somehow it's not loading UCM

Sorry about that. Missed that tab. Yes, looks your like your screenshot. "Play high quality music". I'm going to toggle it off and on to see if it has any effect.

@MartijnBraam is there anything else I can do to get sound to work? I even reinstalled to make sure I didn't do something wrong before but it's still not working. Once I get this working I think I can install this on my EMMC.

I just dd'd it to my eMMC, now the pinebook boots fine from eMMC without SD card, but the keyboard and trackpad are both dead Sad
Tried to attach USB mouse, no luck either.
UPDATE: Now tried to reboot from SD card, same issue!
Maybe there was a hidden partition on the eMMC with built-in firmwares which I got overwritten?

Thanks!

I've been running postmarketOS exclusively since the end of March without issues. Well, one of issue - sound - but that was my fault. Are you using the default image from March? Also, had you already performed the trackpad firmware update to your PBP?
  Reply
#49
@digeratus1.

Hi, yes, I flashed the image from March to SD, booted from it, everything was fine. I replaced GNOME with i3, then dd'd the SD to eMMC.
Next I remove the SD and boot from eMMC, boots fine, trackpad + keyboard gone.
I tried to boot from SD again, but the trackpad and keyboard ceased to work there also.
I even tried attaching USB keyboard and mice since then, doesn't work either Sad

Any ideas?

Thank you!
  Reply
#50
(05-23-2020, 02:39 PM)digeratus1. Wrote: I've been running postmarketOS exclusively since the end of March without issues. Well, one of issue - sound - but that was my fault. Are you using the default image from March? Also, had you already performed the trackpad firmware update to your PBP?

Forgot to add that NO I did not perform any firmware updates previously
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Kali Linux for Pinebook Pro Luke 94 101,644 09-26-2022, 06:46 AM
Last Post: dachalife
  Need help with new pinebook pro magistral 10 613 09-24-2022, 05:14 PM
Last Post: magistral
  manjaro on pinebook pro low audio quality over jack alcck 1 98 09-22-2022, 11:31 AM
Last Post: petersen77
  Fedora Workstation (36) on Pinebook Pro u974615 13 753 09-02-2022, 11:24 AM
Last Post: u974615
  slarm64 (unofficial slackware) Pinebook Pro RK3399 (aarch64) mara 38 23,174 08-26-2022, 09:38 AM
Last Post: mara
  No audio on Pinebook Pro with Fedora? foobar 1 192 08-22-2022, 12:12 PM
Last Post: snorwood
  pinebook pro not booting cricket 1 229 08-17-2022, 04:38 PM
Last Post: cricket
  Freenet on Pinebook pro regivanx 7 2,401 08-11-2022, 06:40 AM
Last Post: regivanx
  PineBook Pro seems to go to deep sleep, but doesn't wake up pogo 1 324 08-10-2022, 08:27 AM
Last Post: wdt
  pre-order pinebook pro justwantin 3 727 05-27-2022, 12:09 PM
Last Post: dachalife

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)