Pine book Pro motherboard future upgrades ?
I am wondering if a year or two years in the future the Pine book Pro will have a replacement motherboard that will run the solid-state NVMe drive as easily as the current one runs the EMMc drive.?

I will definitely purchase that motherboard  !

Meanwhile I will be happy with the one I purchased.
      LINUX = CHOICES
         **BCnAZ**
               Idea
   Donate to $upport
your favorite OS Team
(10-11-2019, 07:18 PM)bcnaz Wrote: I am wondering if a year or two years in the future the Pine book Pro will have a replacement motherboard that will run the solid-state NVMe drive as easily as the current one runs the EMMc drive.?

Does that require different hardware though?  I've been following the threads on nvme and how to maximize speed out of it given that you can't boot directly off of it, but I'm not familiar with ultra-low-level tech like that (my background is software dev, but I know absolutely nothing about firmware dev, u-boot, or most hardware).  I would *think* it's just a matter of using a different firmware (that may or may not actually exist), but I don't know that for sure.
(10-15-2019, 10:26 AM)binarian Wrote:
(10-11-2019, 07:18 PM)bcnaz Wrote: I am wondering if a year or two years in the future the Pine book Pro will have a replacement motherboard that will run the solid-state NVMe drive as easily as the current one runs the EMMc drive.?

Does that require different hardware though?  I've been following the threads on nvme and how to maximize speed out of it given that you can't boot directly off of it, but I'm not familiar with ultra-low-level tech like that (my background is software dev, but I know absolutely nothing about firmware dev, u-boot, or most hardware).  I would *think* it's just a matter of using a different firmware (that may or may not actually exist), but I don't know that for sure.
1)  I am not the ideal person to ask that Question.