Rock64 no network
#1
So this is what happened.

I got my new Rock64 yesterday. Been waiting for a month to get this.

I flashed DieptPi and tried to configure it over LAN for first time and it was smooth except at one point there was no display. I tried to reflash the memory card with Dietpi. It started to get the updates for first time and then no display. 

I tried to flash OMV on that. When i connect without network it shows no network, which is ok. When i try to connect LAN cable i dont see the rock64 in network.

How can i get this resolved?
  Reply
#2
I changed the power supply to 5W now and I got network.

But the network is unstable and keeps dropping. How can I fix this?
  Reply
#3
(04-06-2019, 11:34 PM)ripcord Wrote: I changed the power supply to 5W now and I got network.

But the network is unstable and keeps dropping. How can I fix this?

Depending on what you have plugged in you may need a 5v 3a power supply
  Reply
#4
Guess that might be the case. I have plugged in a 4TB external portable HDD USB 3.0.

The connection to that keeps dropping down too. i had no issue with RPi B3+ though. I have ordered a power supply. hope that works out.

thanks.
  Reply
#5
(04-07-2019, 05:32 AM)ripcord Wrote: Guess that might be the case. I have plugged in a 4TB external portable HDD USB 3.0.

The connection to that keeps dropping down too. i had no issue with RPi B3+ though. I have ordered a power supply. hope that works out.

thanks.


What happens to your network if you don't plug the hdd in?
  Reply
#6
Unless your power supply is up to the job the hdd in the USB 3.00 Port will surely cause you difficulties. No point making comparisons to RPI3+ board. Different beast. Make sure you have enough overhead to power your Rock64 plus peripherals.
  Reply
#7
(04-07-2019, 04:14 PM)evilbunny Wrote:
(04-07-2019, 05:32 AM)ripcord Wrote: Guess that might be the case. I have plugged in a 4TB external portable HDD USB 3.0.

The connection to that keeps dropping down too. i had no issue with RPi B3+ though. I have ordered a power supply. hope that works out.

thanks.

What happens to your network if you don't plug the hdd in?

Haven't tested that. Anyway I have ordered the QC30 based usb adapter which should do the job I guess as i meets the spec.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Will Mobian Run On Rock64? Porcupine 1 128 01-13-2021, 12:39 PM
Last Post: tophneal
  Rock64 v2 as Openmediavault server - buffers / shutdown problems helpmerock 2 262 12-29-2020, 09:46 AM
Last Post: helpmerock
  Rock64 as a router (OpenWRT,etc) bob-anon 1 548 11-26-2020, 05:13 PM
Last Post: Rocklobster
  Safest way to send shutdown signal to headless Rock64 SMB server? bmurphr1 2 323 11-23-2020, 03:17 AM
Last Post: KC9UDX
  rock64, compile problems "illegal instruction", "memory fault" -> ddr_333Mhz? hunderteins 10 3,434 11-17-2020, 08:00 AM
Last Post: Johannes
  Rock64 enable 1-wire to read DS18B20 or Dallas temperature sensor Perry 0 440 11-09-2020, 07:38 PM
Last Post: Perry
  Libreelec Rock64 - 4GB no boot spiker15 3 651 11-02-2020, 12:36 AM
Last Post: wilsonYan
  noob with non booting rock64 4g john72carter 6 1,211 10-14-2020, 07:35 PM
Last Post: Rocklobster
  Python GPIO Library for the Rock64 (R64.GPIO) Leapo 34 28,483 10-13-2020, 02:35 PM
Last Post: hellonwood40
  Rock64 - boot helpmerock 2 710 10-08-2020, 01:29 PM
Last Post: helpmerock

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)