Bricked my Rock64
I just got my Rock 64, loaded ubuntu mate and it was working fine.  I was wanting to add storage (i boot from the micro sd).  I read a post that you could load u-boot onto a micro sd, put it into the Rock64, power it up, and wait for the lights to start blinking steadily.  Then you were to shut down, remove the sd card, and attached an ssd via usb.  I did so, but now it powers up and nothing whatsoever happens visually on the screen.  I tried loading the sd card with a fresh version of ubuntu mate and nothing happens.  I'm a total novice to this, but it seems that I've altered the firmware or something so that my machine won't work.  Can anyone help?  Can I restore the board to factory settings and pretend this never happened?  Have I ruined my board?
You need to flash an OS Image to your HDD. The reason your board does not boot from HDD is because there is no OS on it. 
You can remove u-boot from SPI flash using this image - this will allow you to boot from SD again.

Its impossible to brick this device.
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter

(02-16-2018, 12:50 AM)Luke Wrote: You need to flash an OS Image to your HDD. The reason your board does not boot from HDD is because there is no OS on it. 
You can remove u-boot from SPI flash using this image - this will allow you to boot from SD again.

Its impossible to brick this device.

Thanks so much for the reply.  Can you recommend an image for the HDD that will work well?  Also, I clicked the link you provided to remove u-boot and it said there was an error.
What do you want to use your Rock64 for? Headless, mediaplayer, NAS ... ?  

Sorry, indeed that link does not work - try this.

(02-16-2018, 07:29 AM)Luke Wrote: What do you want to use your Rock64 for? Headless, mediaplayer, NAS ... ?