Problem Installing Linux on Rock64
#11
Nope, RAM size has nothing to do with it. Do you have an A-to-A cable and UART ? 

For starters, if you have an A-to-A cable could you follow the instructions here and later pastebin what rkflashtool n gives you with eMMC mounted on the board? 
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter


  Reply
#12
(01-19-2018, 08:02 AM)Luke Wrote: Nope, RAM size has nothing to do with it. Do you have an A-to-A cable and UART ? 

For starters, if you have an A-to-A cable could you follow the instructions here and later pastebin what rkflashtool n gives you with eMMC mounted on the board? 

Sorry I dont know what an A to A cable is, nor a UART. So I guess the answer is no.

I just tried flashing and booting with image jessie-minimal-rock64-0.5.15-136-arm64.img.xz  
This just gives i/o buffer error mmcblkp1.
  Reply
#13
A-to-A USB cable
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter


  Reply
#14
Just tried installing the armbian image:

Armbian_5.34.171121_Rock64_Ubuntu_xenial_default_4.4.77.img

but also same result.

The bios messages about self tests USB connected etc follow ok.

I can plug and unplug mouse and keyboard and the messages on the screen register this ok.

then comes stuff like

mail device driver loaded
ALSA device list

then a list of one lines starting with 'random'

random udevadm uninitialized urandom read

final line is:

random nonblocking pool is initialized

nothing more.

EDIT: Im saying 'bios messages' but maybe they are from the OS image. Some of them reference folders  like /devices and /drivers and BTRFS. The last message line comes about 5 seconds into the boot.
  Reply
#15
if I was you I would test out the following:

* Try a different power supply, especially if the one you are using is below a 3A rating.

* See if you can get a slower SD card to try. It seems to me that (at least with mainline) the Rock64 may have some trouble with some cards. Like I have some Samsung EVO cards that seem to have problems with the Rock64 but slower Patriot Class 10 ones work OK.
  Reply
#16
(01-21-2018, 12:05 AM)wilsonYan Wrote: if I was you I would test out the following:

* Try a different power supply, especially if the one you are using is below a 3A rating.

* See if you can get a slower SD card to try. It seems to me that (at least with mainline) the Rock64 may have some trouble with some cards. Like I have some Samsung EVO cards that seem to have problems with the Rock64 but slower Patriot Class 10 ones work OK.

Well I'm using the official power supply adapter which was supplied with the Rock64 so that shouldn't be an issue. 

Ive tried three different cards so far. I dont have a slower card than class 10, but the cards I have are all 2-3 years old, one of them brand new.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  irradium (based on crux linux) Rock64 riscv64, aarch64 mara 3 412 06-27-2024, 10:56 AM
Last Post: mara
  Rock64 v2 - did not work song / audio sqw200zu 2 1,571 03-14-2024, 03:09 AM
Last Post: dmitrymyadzelets
  Rock64 won't boot dstallmo 0 463 12-27-2023, 10:34 AM
Last Post: dstallmo
  HDMI doesn't work on rock64 Noung1991 1 811 11-21-2023, 08:33 AM
Last Post: as365n4
  Rock64 + Klipper + KlipperScreen Instructions godzilla62 0 804 10-22-2023, 01:52 AM
Last Post: godzilla62
  Rock64 Debian 11 (Bullseye) install problem jbize 15 9,543 10-12-2023, 05:14 PM
Last Post: tpaul
  slarm64 (unofficial slackware) Rock64 RK3328 (aarch64) mara 133 201,016 10-09-2023, 03:31 AM
Last Post: mara
  arch rock64 does not boot nemnob 0 716 07-09-2023, 03:28 AM
Last Post: nemnob
  MIPI-CSI IMX214 on Linux NO SUCCESS zeus666 2 1,966 06-02-2023, 07:52 AM
Last Post: diederik
  RXDP from Win10 to Armbian on Rock64 Transportsicherung 0 767 05-27-2023, 06:11 AM
Last Post: Transportsicherung

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)