Pine64 doesn't recognize Wifi/BT Module
#1
I have two Pine A64 boards, one with 1GB RAM and one with 2GB. I plugged the Wifi/BT module into the 1GB board but accidentally plugged it in off by one pin on the connectors. The board booted up, but restarted a couple of times before finally coming up. Naturally, it did not recognize the Wifi module. When I saw my mistake, I removed power and repositioned the module. It still did not recognize the module. I tried plugging the module on the 2GB board and it worked fine. I tried the module I originally had on the 2GB board on the 1GB board and it didn't recognize that one either.

So final result: the 2GB board sees both Wifi/BT modules, but the 1GB board doesn't see either one. I'm guessing I smoked the interface on the 1GB board. Everything else appears to be working on it so far. Has anyone else experienced this?
  Reply
#2
(07-13-2017, 07:11 PM)clobeca Wrote: I have two Pine A64 boards, one with 1GB RAM and one with 2GB. I plugged the Wifi/BT module into the 1GB board but accidentally plugged it in off by one pin on the connectors. The board booted up, but restarted a couple of times before finally coming up. Naturally, it did not recognize the Wifi module. When I saw my mistake, I removed power and repositioned the module. It still did not recognize the module. I tried plugging the module on the 2GB board and it worked fine. I tried the module I originally had on the 2GB board on the 1GB board and it didn't recognize that one either.

So final result: the 2GB board sees both Wifi/BT modules, but the 1GB board doesn't see either one. I'm guessing I smoked the interface on the 1GB board. Everything else appears to be working on it so far. Has anyone else experienced this?


Yes, sadly.  You might try another wifi module ? More likely than not you managed to damage the 1G board;  don't worry about it, just get another one;  you may notice other strange things coming from that board in the future;
marcushh777    Cool

please join us for a chat @  irc.pine64.xyz:6667   or ssl  irc.pine64.xyz:6697

( I regret that I am not able to respond to personal messages;  let's meet on irc! )
  Reply
#3
Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, I have two Wifi modules. Both of them work on the 2GB board, and neither one on the 1GB. Another board it is!
  Reply
#4
(07-13-2017, 08:53 PM)clobeca Wrote: Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, I have two Wifi modules. Both of them work on the 2GB board, and neither one on the 1GB. Another board it is!

well, ok,   rats.

:/

We had another person recently have this issue, and later the 1G board started acting up in other areas, so expect that too;  the boards are inexpensive enough that you can make this mistake and not lose much;  just order another one;  only get the 2G board !
marcushh777    Cool

please join us for a chat @  irc.pine64.xyz:6667   or ssl  irc.pine64.xyz:6697

( I regret that I am not able to respond to personal messages;  let's meet on irc! )
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Wifi / Bluetooth Board Update S265 2 174 07-30-2020, 04:53 PM
Last Post: S265
  Better WiFi/BT module? fonix232 18 3,579 01-19-2020, 03:24 AM
Last Post: mikeb
  [split] Better WiFi/BT module? moriel5 1 370 01-19-2020, 03:20 AM
Last Post: mikeb
  Create a WiFi hotspot on Debian 8 JulianM 7 16,757 03-10-2019, 01:02 AM
Last Post: waqasnasir
  Schematics of Wifi/BT module gamelaster 7 1,269 09-11-2018, 02:02 PM
Last Post: gamelaster
  Wireless Module Driver Source code mido2018 0 291 08-08-2018, 04:26 PM
Last Post: mido2018
  Installing another WiFi module on one of the buses mido2018 1 408 07-22-2018, 07:15 AM
Last Post: tllim
  Unable to activate wifi on Linux smouton 10 4,588 02-21-2018, 09:56 PM
Last Post: dkebler
Sad wifi direct bj_jung 2 1,273 12-29-2016, 10:26 AM
Last Post: happytuna
  Enabling wifi c4tich 10 5,471 12-28-2016, 02:22 PM
Last Post: workaccountbro

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)