[Feb 26] Recalbox beta v3.1- Rock64 |[Feb 26] Recalbox 190222- RockPro64 / Minimal Debian by mrfixit2001 - 190222 - RockPro64 |[Feb 26] Q4OS 2.7-r2 - Pinebook 1080P / Pinebook |[Feb 22] Batocera Linux 5.20-20190121- RockPro64 | [Feb 19] Manjaro KDE 19.02 / Manjaro LXQT 19.02 - Pinebook1080P / Pinebook | [Feb 19] Slackware Aarch64 Miniroot and XFCE 20190201 - RockPro | [Feb 19] Slackware Aarch64 Miniroot and XFCE 20190201 - Rock64

Project Inspiration | Get Started | IRC Logs | Forum Rules/Policy


Q4OS for PINEBOOK
#41
(07-20-2017, 04:19 AM)q4osteam Wrote: Select "Copy here"
- Now I am able to rename the desktop icon using "right mouse click > rename" or "F2" key

Please specify some more details for us to be able to reproduce and fix the issue you have described.

Hmmm - I did use "Link here" for a Shortcut.

When I do rename the Icon and press Enter - it got its original name in the first try
When doing a second try to rename then the icon has changed at the desktop.

Sometimes - after a reboot - the icon has again its old name Sad

I want to rename "Chromium Webbrowser" and "VLC Mediaplayer" to "Chromium" and "VLC"
or "MATE-Terminal" to "Terminal" only.

Got this with my Pinebook and on my x86-laptop....
Reply
#42
(07-20-2017, 06:13 AM)guidol Wrote: When I do rename the Icon and press Enter - it got its original name in the first try
When doing a second try to rename then the icon has changed at the desktop.

Sometimes - after a reboot - the icon has again its old name

Thanks, I can confirm such confusing bearing, if you create a "Link" to root owned shortcut on the desktop. It will be included as a bug in our internal bug list and treated as soon as possible.

(07-20-2017, 06:13 AM)guidol Wrote: I want to rename "Chromium Webbrowser" and "VLC Mediaplayer" to "Chromium" and "VLC"
or "MATE-Terminal" to "Terminal" only.
You just need to use "Copy" command, as it will create a user owned and editable copy of that shortcut.
Reply
#43
Ahh :Smile did use too much Windows - when used copy from the Explorer I will get a copy of the .EXE

Now here on Q4OS its a root-owned Link already so copy will only do a User-Copy of the Link - I see Smile
Thanks for the information Smile
Reply
#44
Is Q4OS faster than ubuntu 16.04 mate on pinebook? Smile
Reply
#45
I did this:
Code:
sudo dd bs=4M if=image.iso of=/dev/mmcblk1

On my pinebook (Ubuntu 16.4) for Q4OS image and it is not booting when I restart. I need to press something to start booting from sd card?
Reply
#46
(08-13-2017, 04:28 PM)shirman Wrote: I did this:
Code:
sudo dd bs=4M if=image.iso of=/dev/mmcblk1

On my pinebook (Ubuntu 16.4) for Q4OS image and it is not booting when I restart. I need to press something to start booting from sd card?

nope. It should start from SD after a restart - SD has boot priority. Perhaps you didnt flash the image correctly ?
  If you manage to click this link you'll join in the IRC channel
Reply
#47
How can I check result of flashing?
Reply
#48
(08-13-2017, 04:55 PM)shirman Wrote: How can I check result of flashing?

Pineinstaller does that for you. DD and the Disks GUI utility that comes with ubuntu-based distros does not.

Did you select 'Pinebook' from the drop-down menu? Pine64 or SoPine images wont work.... perhaps you are booting an image for the wrong device ?
  If you manage to click this link you'll join in the IRC channel
Reply
#49
(08-14-2017, 12:53 AM)Luke Wrote:
(08-13-2017, 04:55 PM)shirman Wrote: How can I check result of flashing?

Pineinstaller does that for you. DD and the Disks GUI utility that comes with ubuntu-based distros does not.

Did you select 'Pinebook' from the drop-down menu? Pine64 or SoPine images wont work.... perhaps you are booting an image for the wrong device ?

I can't use Pineinstaller because I have not any sd card reader, for now, so I can burn SD image only on my Pinebook via DD or gnome-disk, Pineinstaller is not working on ARM at the moment Sad
Reply
#50
(08-14-2017, 01:00 AM)shirman Wrote:
(08-14-2017, 12:53 AM)Luke Wrote:
(08-13-2017, 04:55 PM)shirman Wrote: How can I check result of flashing?

Pineinstaller does that for you. DD and the Disks GUI utility that comes with ubuntu-based distros does not.

Did you select 'Pinebook' from the drop-down menu? Pine64 or SoPine images wont work.... perhaps you are booting an image for the wrong device ?

I can't use Pineinstaller because I have not any sd card reader, for now, so I can burn SD image only on my Pinebook via DD or gnome-disk, Pineinstaller is not working on ARM at the moment Sad

Disks worked well for me on the PB.
  If you manage to click this link you'll join in the IRC channel
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Information Manjaro ARM for Pinebook erchache2000 25 211 03-20-2019, 05:22 AM
Last Post: Luke
  Armbian - Xenial Desktop (Pinebook) pineadmin 79 13,498 03-06-2019, 04:20 PM
Last Post: tllim
  How can I reliably get battery status on pinebook tillea 4 905 03-05-2019, 06:43 AM
Last Post: chessie
  Archlinux (mainline) for Pinebook anarsoul 48 11,143 02-15-2019, 02:19 PM
Last Post: e-minguez
  No display options on Pinebook or Pineboard Fox7799 0 146 02-06-2019, 11:56 AM
Last Post: Fox7799
  KDE Neon Pinebook remix edition RC image bshah 64 17,295 02-06-2019, 06:04 AM
Last Post: soupbowl
  Exagear Desktop on Pinebook AndyK 2 1,189 01-18-2019, 04:20 AM
Last Post: binholz
  DietPi for Pinebook Fourdee 10 2,076 01-09-2019, 08:38 AM
Last Post: WZ9V
Information How to set the Power Off key binding in i3wm for the Pinebook MarkHaysHarris777 4 973 12-25-2018, 05:57 AM
Last Post: binholz
  Netflix on Pinebook podcastlinux 2 458 12-04-2018, 07:45 AM
Last Post: tahf

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)