Which command line only OS? For streaming audio
Hi, I'm a newbie to SBC. I have a 512MB model, that I would like use to stream audio to the internet (darkice + caster.fm).  I've read the OS page in the wiki, the only OS there suitable for the 512MB board is Debian. Which has a gui (desktop environment), which I really don't want or need. 

I'm much more comfortable with Ubuntu (actually CentOS, and Ubuntu is closer to Cent than Debian is), but it says Ubuntu won't run on the 512MB boards.  I'm guessing that if ran Ubuntu, it would be slow and laggy, but then if I uninstalled the de it would be ok?  But there might be other things wrong then, like the audio would be setup for a de, not command line, it might make things a little harder.  It seems there is no "official" (recommended) command line OS?

I see lots of references to custom builds in the forums, like "get bob's Ubuntu core here..." but I don't feel great about that idea... I'd like something a little more mainstream. I found one that sounded like it would work ok, but the download link was a 404.

Any suggestions? Thanks.
For ubuntu, you want Longsleep's Xenial Ubuntu Image. All Pine64 images are based on Longsleeps work at the kernel level, but that is where the story usually ends. However, he also put together the minimal Ubuntu image, and it will work with  all three board variants (512MB/1GB/2GB).

Otherwise, have a look at the DietPi image for Pine64... here is the announcement for it on the forum. It is a heavily optimised debian jessie distro aimed at having the minimal possibly process and memory footprint, whilst having plenty of features and being easy to use.
Big Grin