Volunteer firefighter needs help forwarding alam message
Hi,

I'm a volunteer firefighter. We use dual alarm so the mobile phone is just a backup. I now use my pinephone as a daily driver and usually do no longer carry an android phone with the alarm software around.

So i was thinking about forwarding the alarm notification to my pinephone (and ideally other Linux devices because the PP still isn't really reliable). I do have a solution where the Android device sits at home and the notification of the alarm app is forwarded via email (i use Macrodroid to do this). But it takes time for the email to arrive so this solution is far from perfect (i still have to figure out how to forward the full notification text, too). The ideal (?) solution probably would to use something like gotify but i have no idea how to feed that software the info from the alarm app notification.

So, please, can anyone think of a solution to forward notfifications from an Android phone to Linux devices in real time (or at least as fast as possible), ideally using my Linux server so i don't let anyone peek into the confidential messages? I would prefer not using SMS and the alarm app will not work under Waydroid as it needs google play store to obtain the information needed to register with the server.
"the alarm app is forwarded via email" Just send the email to your phone number at the service provider to get a text instead.

example:
https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/27051/us...-for-free/

Not possible with my (German) provider, unfortunately
Maybe forwarding the message via XMPP might work faster and more reliable for you?

I have been running my own XMPP server (Prosody) for years and it runs flawless. Truly what I would call 'instant messaging'. That takes some setting up though. You could perhaps start testing it out using someone else's server.

Then some glue to forward the SMS to XMPP on the Android phone.
Cheers,
TRS-80

What is Free Software and why is it so important for society?