Cannot get PINE64 boards to boot
#11
(07-05-2016, 05:37 PM)manthis Wrote: OS won't change anything. I mean it is not a matter of OS since I should see the BIOS image of something without needing an OS but nothing is displayed.

I'd also agree with the idea of eliminating your issue being OS-related. Take a look at debian mate: https://www.pine64.pro/downloads/  fast boot time, can't say enough good things about it. If nothing else, it eliminates the OS as the root cause of your issue.

If you continue to have issues, you may also want to consider starting a new thread for troubleshooting help, rather than continuing to hijack the OPs.
  Reply
#12
(07-05-2016, 05:37 PM)manthis Wrote: OS won't change anything. I mean it is not a matter of OS since I should see the BIOS image of something without needing an OS but nothing is displayed.

There is no 'BIOS' on the pine (there's uboot on the SD), so if there is no img then nothing will be displayed.

(07-05-2016, 05:49 PM)DonFL Wrote:
(07-05-2016, 05:37 PM)manthis Wrote: OS won't change anything. I mean it is not a matter of OS since I should see the BIOS image of something without needing an OS but nothing is displayed.

I'd also agree with the idea of eliminating your issue being OS-related. Take a look at debian mate: https://www.pine64.pro/downloads/  fast boot time, can't say enough good things about it. If nothing else, it eliminates the OS as the root cause of your issue.

If you continue to have issues, you may also want to consider starting a new thread for troubleshooting help, rather than continuing to hijack the OPs.

Currently, other than the sorely missed mali blobs, the linux experience is way ahead of the other images (because the kernel is most stable/ less problematic/ supports more peripherals, etc). I believe most common issues have now been ironed out. And yes, the new debian img is really nice Smile
You can find me on IRC, Discord and Twitter


  Reply
#13
I was able to get the board to boot with the rooted Android image. It appears as though all it took was switching to a better power supply. Thanks for your help!
  Reply
#14
andy and manthis, are you both using a charger, or an actual power supply?  I learned quickly that even though I was using a charged rated for up to 2.5A, it would not power the Pine.  I finally purchased an actual power supply, and have had zero issues since then.  I purchased a non-Pine supply rated at 2.5A by CanaKit, meant for the rPi3.  Someone else (tkaiser) recommended a different one, but I think either one would be fine.  Or the actual Pine supply, I just don't know how long it takes to get one.

One I purchased:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MARDJZ4/

Recommended by tkaiser:
https://www.loverpi.com/blogs/news/93532...comparison
Kickstarter backer #5,864  --  SBC Noob  --  SE Michigan, USA
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Occasionally won't boot amc2012 9 1,034 07-05-2019, 07:49 AM
Last Post: Maddie
  Red LED blink on boot watou 3 133 06-07-2019, 04:54 AM
Last Post: watou
  Pine64 (analog) Audio Jack Output w/ Kernel 4.19 ecolezen 0 300 01-24-2019, 07:00 AM
Last Post: ecolezen
  PINE64 STEREO AUDIO DAC POT jtgiroux 0 339 01-12-2019, 04:56 PM
Last Post: jtgiroux
  Does Pine64+ have an internal hardware watchdog ? rahlquist 8 2,856 04-26-2018, 06:27 PM
Last Post: pfeerick
  Using the pine64 with AVR - HDMI pass-through Moshe.Vazan 4 980 01-02-2017, 02:58 PM
Last Post: Moshe.Vazan
  I dropped my Pine64 DukeJustice 17 1,828 11-07-2016, 07:23 PM
Last Post: DukeJustice
  Board will not boot/does not work major7 2 906 09-03-2016, 02:53 AM
Last Post: major7
  pine64+ cad files danlcarr 1 733 08-31-2016, 08:26 AM
Last Post: martinayotte
  Pine64+: 3 working, 1 shows nothing on tv zumtra 1 693 07-30-2016, 05:47 PM
Last Post: tllim

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)