My experience running desktop Linux on PinePhone
Bug 
NOTE: This may be a bit ranty, because frankly I'm frustrated. Please excuse that, no offense is intended.

Background/context:

I've been running Fedora with XFCE (big icons etc) on my PinePhone since around the beginning of the pandemic. Maybe April or May 2020? Not sure. I've been using it as a daily driver, patiently, fixing issues as they arrive, for that span of time.
I've had two PinePhones in that time, a Mobian CE and a Braveheart.

I've been building custom kernels based on megi's sources for the majority of that time. They're not really modified much, they just have things like btrfs as builtins, and my occasional patches for stability or compile fixes. My PinePhone Mobian currently runs kernel 5.15.11, the latest at time of writing.

I'm a programmer myself with a background in several systems languages and several scripting languages and cross-platform development, though mostly userland.

The last straw today was when I tried to play music in a lyft and the system hung because I dared try to play audio out of the 3.5mm jack.

Here we go.

We're now about to enter 2022, and I still have a miserable experience daily. It's a rare day indeed that my PinePhone doesn't seize up entirely at least once. It's not the RAM speed issue, that's fixed for me, I'm at 400 something Mhz. Hard lockups are usually caused by any one of: rtl8723cs wifi drivers, Goodix touchscreen related Xorg hangs/segfaults, sound card drivers, or just using more than a few hundred MB of data over wifi. I finally got Bluetooth working, but the audio performance is so bad that it pops and cracks constantly, making it unusable. Sometimes Pipewire (Fedora's pulseaudio replacement, and Pulseaudio before that) just randomly crashes with no explanation. Sometimes a phantom finger shows up and decides to hold down something on the screen so I can't use the screen at all.