Pinephone IMEI changing info: do you think its OK for a Wiki?
To me the solution is simple.  Pine64 does not want the information posted on their site(s).  So, post it on another site and take your own risks.

Heck, post it on LBRY where it really can't be taken down no matter who successfully gets it removed from the official indexes.
:wq

[ SRA accepts you ]
I'm new to the forum, but I felt the need to speak up about this as I have extensively worked on this exact feature and the legality of it in the past. I've been a hardware/software developer for over 20 years with many of those years focused on privacy enhancing technologies. I think a short story about my past could help clear some things up.

The issue of changing an IMEI showed up while working for a former employer. Someone in the company (we'll call him Chad), much like some people here, ignorantly believed it was illegal for us to do so. Chad had no real reason, no proof, no cited sources for this believe. It was his own believe because he thought it was "immoral". Chad always loved to point out the evil and scary things that could *possibly* be done with certain features on products even though he usually did not fully understand what was really going on. Chad always assume just because one or two people *might* use a product in an undesirable way, he should be the protector of the world and put a stop to it from ever happening in the first place. Chad made a big issue out of changing MAC and IMEI addresses, so the CEO went to an attorney to get clarity. Long story short, it was NOT illegal for the company to change the IMEI and MAC addresses of the devices the company purchased before reselling them. Chad was finally fired some time later, thankfully.