Mobian can't see OpenVPN is installed.
#1
I have something I am trying to figure out and haven't been able to. I have a paid VPN service that uses the OpenVPN protocol. I have used it on the Pinephone on Arch and Manjaro but for some reason the eOVPN app cant see Open VPN is installed and up to date in Mobian and won't connect. See attached pictures. See the bottom line in the picture. Left Mobian-Right Arch. Anyone suggest anything?


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
  Reply
#2
(03-10-2021, 01:15 PM)C0ffeeFreak Wrote: I have something I am trying to figure out and haven't been able to. I have a paid VPN service that uses the OpenVPN protocol. I have used it on the Pinephone on Arch and Manjaro but for some reason the eOVPN app cant see Open VPN is installed and up to date in Mobian and won't connect. See attached pictures. See the bottom line in the picture. Left Mobian-Right Arch. Anyone suggest anything?

Hmm, I can't say I ever used the gui eOVPN. Have you tried setting up openVPN through the commandline interface instead? Just try it with one servers openvpn configuration, to rule out if its the app or something else.

Sorry can't be anymore useful :/
  Reply
#3
(03-10-2021, 05:06 PM)theD0ctor Wrote:
(03-10-2021, 01:15 PM)C0ffeeFreak Wrote: I have something I am trying to figure out and haven't been able to. I have a paid VPN service that uses the OpenVPN protocol. I have used it on the Pinephone on Arch and Manjaro but for some reason the eOVPN app cant see Open VPN is installed and up to date in Mobian and won't connect. See attached pictures. See the bottom line in the picture. Left Mobian-Right Arch. Anyone suggest anything?

Hmm, I can't say I ever used the gui eOVPN. Have you tried setting up openVPN through the command line interface instead? Just try it with one servers openvpn configuration, to rule out if its the app or something else.

Sorry can't be anymore useful :/
Thanks for the suggestion anyway. Yes it works through the command line but that's not a practical solution without being attached to a monitor, keyboard. When I need a a VPN I am usually traveling. Needs to work through the GUI in the long term but for now I am using the Proton VPN GUI which uses another protocol. It's the free version of their VPN and slow but a temporary fix till I can figure out.
  Reply
#4
Native or flatpak? The readme mentions the '--debug [LEVEL]' command line option or an environment variable to set, which is easy for a native install but I don't know how it works for flatpak.
https://github.com/jkotra/eOVPN
The code getting the version is here:
https://github.com/jkotra/eOVPN/blob/mas...openvpn.py
See get_version(self) at line 172. It's trying to run 'openvpn --version' and find the version in the output using a regular expression. Is it unable to run the command (no openvpn in the path, sandboxing preventing it running, something else?) or does the response not contain a matching string? Or is there some other problem like a missing python library that's getting hidden by error trapping?
  Reply
#5
(03-11-2021, 06:56 AM)wibble Wrote: Native or flatpak? The readme mentions the '--debug [LEVEL]' command line option or an environment variable to set, which is easy for a native install but I don't know how it works for flatpak.
https://github.com/jkotra/eOVPN
The code getting the version is here:
https://github.com/jkotra/eOVPN/blob/mas...openvpn.py
See get_version(self) at line 172. It's trying to run 'openvpn --version' and find the version in the output using a regular expression. Is it unable to run the command (no openvpn in the path, sandboxing preventing it running, something else?) or does the response not contain a matching string? Or is there some other problem like a missing python library that's getting hidden by error trapping?
Thanks, I have been through all the debugging. No joy. I gave up.  I purchased a subscription to ProtonVPN for a year to use on the Pinephone when I am running Mobian. That app is fairly new. I will pass that bug on to the developer and let him see if he can figure it out. Somehow the file system must be different although I couldn't find it or something is missing in Mobian. There are files for OpenVpn everywhere throughout the system.
  Reply
#6
Hi @C0ffeeFreak

from v0.20, eOVPN supports NetworkManager. for this to work, make sure you are using NetworkManager and has openvpn plugin installed.

Code:
sudo apt install network-manager-openvpn
sudo apt install network-manager-openvpn-gnome

then install eOVPN flaptak with --user option.

Code:
flatpak install --user flathub com.github.jkotra.eovpn
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Reboot Modem on Pinephone in Mobian eggmatters 5 464 06-17-2021, 02:08 PM
Last Post: eggmatters
  Axolotl on PinePhone / Mobian arno_nuehm 93 21,689 06-11-2021, 07:16 AM
Last Post: ergo owl
  Mobian not updating via Software app FOSSagent0 2 211 06-07-2021, 09:22 PM
Last Post: Zebulon Walton
  mobile data on mobian not working synaption 1 161 06-02-2021, 03:16 PM
Last Post: Aberts10
  How do you copy and paste into mobian terminal? Do you ssh instead? temp0rary 6 279 06-01-2021, 12:16 PM
Last Post: temp0rary
  Turn by Turn alternative GPS app in Mobian livanti21 27 12,233 05-30-2021, 03:17 AM
Last Post: john_doe
  Can't update OS Mobian Phosh Gon 5 456 05-23-2021, 10:52 PM
Last Post: pajux
  Mobian: 2 week as main phone steves 10 1,460 05-18-2021, 11:55 AM
Last Post: vortex
  Printing from Mobian johnd 2 392 05-13-2021, 01:07 PM
Last Post: dukla2000
  Axolotl on Mobian. What am I doing wrong? quixote 3 466 05-11-2021, 06:09 PM
Last Post: quixote

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)