KDE community edition, first feedback
Hello,

it's my first post on this forum, so let me say hello first and quickly say that I'm a developer, libre software enthusiast, and XMPP developer (I'm working on a multi-frontends XMPP client, not focusing only on instant messaging but also on blogging, events, photo albums, etc, it's named "Libervia", formerly "Salut à Toi").

I've just received my PinePhone KDE edition, and I've started to play with it.

First of all a big congratulation both for the hardware and the software, I'm really impressed by what has been achieved ! I've had in the past on OpenMoko and a Nokia N900, and I can appreciate the achievement. I have not put yet any SIM card, but it's already great as a portable GNU/Linux device.

The pre-installed Plasma-mobile was not usable because it was not possible to quit/change the application (for whatever reason I had not the button on the bottom to do it). Each time I wanted to quit an application which had no quit menu, I had to reboot the device !

I've managed to update with discover, it took some time (I was wondering if it didn't crash, on reboot it stayed a while on the installation message), it would be nice to have some trace to see what's happening.

After the update, the Plasma mobile is really usable, and I can exit or switch apps normally. I'm a long term KDE user, and it's really great to see that on a phone, with the sound I'm used to and all, really neat. In addition it's quite beautiful.

The device works quite OK at this stage of development, it's absolutely usable, the browser is relatively fluid, for my first tests it's great. Again congrats to everybody involved in hardware or software, I'm really impressed !