4G VoLTE calls confirmed working with carrier x
#1
Hi!

I've struggled to find an easy thread to track carriers with VoLTE confirmed to work with the Pinephone for 4G LTE calls.
I think it would be useful to have a single thread where users can confirm VoLTE is working for incoming and outgoing calls.

Moderators: feel free to modify / delete if you have a better solution!

Here's a useful link for info on modem commands:

https://wiki.postmarketos.org/wiki/PINE6...one)#VoLTE

Note that the updated modem firmware provides additional VoLTE profiles in bold:

Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QMBNCFG="list"'
response: '+QMBNCFG: "List",0,0,0,"ROW_Generic_3GPP",0x05010820,201905141
+QMBNCFG: "List",1,0,0,"VoLTE-ATT",0x0501033C,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",2,0,0,"hVoLTE-Verizon",0x05010141,202004091
+QMBNCFG: "List",3,0,0,"Sprint-VoLTE",0x05010205,201908141
+QMBNCFG: "List",4,0,0,"Commercial-TMO_VoLTE",0x05010505,201811231
+QMBNCFG: "List",5,0,0,"Telus-Commercial_VoLTE",0x05800C43,201912031
+QMBNCFG: "List",6,0,0,"Commercial-SBM",0x05011C18,202004211
+QMBNCFG: "List",7,0,0,"Commercial-DT",0x05011F1C,201905311
+QMBNCFG: "List",8,0,0,"Reliance_OpnMkt",0x05011B38,202003251
+QMBNCFG: "List",9,0,0,"TF_Germany_VoLTE",0x05010C1B,202004151
+QMBNCFG: "List",10,0,0,"TF_Spain_VoLTE",0x05010CFA,201909261
+QMBNCFG: "List",11,0,0,"Volte_OpenMkt-Commercial-CMCC",0x05012071,202004161
+QMBNCFG: "List",12,0,0,"OpenMkt-Commercial-CT",0x05011322,202001171
+QMBNCFG: "List",13,0,0,"OpenMkt-Commercial-CU",0x05011505,202001171
+QMBNCFG: "List",14,1,1,"Telstra-Commercial_VoLTE",0x0580079E,202006101
+QMBNCFG: "List",15,0,0,"Commercial-KDDI",0x0501071D,202004041
+QMBNCFG: "List",16,0,0,"Commercial-DCM",0x05010D17,202006101
+QMBNCFG: "List",17,0,0,"Commercial-SKT_VoLTE",0x05012724,201907221
+QMBNCFG: "List",18,0,0,"Commercial-KT",0x05012C0D,202005071'

I've added a few more details on AT commands that show how to enable / disable VoLTE and enable / disable autoselection of the VoLTE profile, as well as setting it manually (as per initial link).

I didn't write down my default settings before making changes (silly me) and I'm unable to test VoLTE as Telstra has not yet enabled VoLTE for MVNOs here in Australia (I'm with Aldimobile).

If you could indicate your carrier (country), if an MVNO who the wholesale carrier is, the VoLTE profile settings, that would be of use to the community.

As an example only VoLTE working with Telstra (Australia) for incoming and outgoing calls.
or example only VoLTE working with Aldimobile (Australia) (Telstra MVNO) for incoming and outgoing calls.

Active VoLTE profile (List All MBN Files):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QMBNCFG="list"'|grep 1,1,
+QMBNCFG: "List",14,1,1,"Telstra-Commercial_VoLTE",0x0580079E,202006101 (the 1,1 indicates that is the active profile)

VoLTE profile automatic selection (Configure MBN Automatic Selection Function):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QMBNCFG="AutoSel"'
response: '+QMBNCFG: "Autosel",1' (could be 0 if you have selected the profile manually)

List IMS (VoLTE) status (IMS Function Control):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="ims"'
response: '+QCFG: "ims",1,1' (I believe both should be 1 for VoLTE calls to work)

Your phone should indicate 4G while on call (if it drops to 3G or 2G that is not VoLTE).
Edit: put your phone in 4G only mode and that should make things easier to confirm VoLTE calls are working.
Edit:
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="nwscanmode",3' (0 i.e. AUTO was default)
response: ''

To set the Network Search Mode (Network Search Mode Configuration):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="nwscanmode",<scanmode>[,<effect>]'
Parameters
<scanmode>
network search mode in a decimal format
0 AUTO (default config)
1 GSM only
2 WCDMA only
3 LTE only
4 TD-SCDMA only
5 UMTS only
6 CDMA only
7 HDR only
8 CDMA and HDR only
<effect>
is an optional parameter that determines when the command will take effect:
0 : command takes effect after a reboot of the QUECTEL EC25
1 or omitted: command takes effect immediately

To query the current Network Search Mode (Network Search Mode Configuration):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QCFG="nwscanmode"'
response: '+QCFG="nwscanmode",3'
End edit

You can use the following AT command to check call status during the call (List Current Calls of MT):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+CLCC'
response: '+CLCC: 1,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 2,1,0,1,0,"",128'

The "1" in the 4th column on the second CLCC row means it's currently calling with VoLTE, when it's "0" it's calling over the legacy phone network.

Edit:
To obtain current network information e.g. confirm tower is 4G LTE during call (Query Network Information):
Code:
$ mmcli -m any --command='AT+QNWINFO'
response: '+QNWINFO: "FDD LTE","50501","LTE BAND 7",2950'
End edit

Note that I believe VoWiFi should work (if your carrier profile supports it?) automatically if you have WiFi on, with the modem selecting whether to route calls over 4G LTE or WiFi based on signal strengths. Not sure how to confirm calls are going over WiFi, though....

Check with your carrier regarding whitelists and VoLTE activation on their side.

Hope this is useful and look forward to your VoLTE carrier confirmations!

Please only post if you have working VoLTE and use a relevant thread / create another thread for anything else  Smile
Pinephone v1.2 UBports CE. Adelaide, Australia using Amaysim SIM (Optus network, VoLTE enabled) with Mobian SD card. VoLTE working also with Felix / Vodafone AU and Aldimobile / Telstra AU.
Manjaro Plasma Mobile on EMMC.
  Reply
#2
Three UK on a Three UK SIM, VoLTE working both outgoing and incoming, display icon stayed 4G during both calls.

Outgoing call:
Code:
$ sudo mmcli -m any --command='AT+CLCC'
response: '+CLCC: 1,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 2,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 3,0,0,0,0,"+44118973xxxx",145
+CLCC: 4,1,0,1,0,"",128'

Incoming call:
Code:
$ sudo mmcli -m any --command='AT+CLCC'
[sudo] password for alarm:
response: '+CLCC: 1,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 2,1,0,1,0,"",128
+CLCC: 4,1,0,0,0,"0794186xxxx",128
+CLCC: 3,1,0,1,0,"",128'

{The xxxx in the MSISDN are manually altered.}

Completely standard (but up to date) Arch image
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux dukla 5.10.0-1-danctnix #1 SMP Tue Dec 15 09:44:29 +07 2020 aarch64 GNU/Linux

ps - I have no idea which profile is being used as there isn't 1 for 3 UK - presumably some default worked fine because I hae done nothing explicit!
  • ROCKPro64 v2.1 2GB, 16Gb eMMC for rootfs, SX8200Pro 512GB NVMe for /home, HDMI video & sound, Bluetooth keyboard & mouse. Arch (6.2 kernel, Openbox desktop) for general purpose daily PC.
  • PinePhone Pro Explorer Edition, daily driver, rk2aw & U-boot on SPI, Arch/SXMO & Arch/phosh on eMMC
  • PinePhone BraveHeart now v1.2b 3/32Gb, Tow-boot with Arch/SXMO on eMMC
  Reply
#3
i give short version at this time:

i use or used user interface to set 4g only mode and didn't change anything else. it seems that it is generic profile. volte seems to work. used postmarketos, manjaro and mobian.

operator/carrier: finnish telia, telia FI
code: 24491****
  Reply
#4
Confirmed VoLTE working with this on T-Mobile - Commercial-TMO_VoLTE
  Reply
#5
short version:
dna finland and volte seems to work with pinephone. dna finland is owned by telenor group.
profile: row genereic 3gpp
code: 24412*
  Reply
#6
VoLTE working on Walmart Family Mobile in US with GSM (T-Mobile) SIM, this is on Mobian, did not test others.

Based on fact that 4G stays showing during calls, I did not do any of command line stuff above.
Cheers,
TRS-80

What is Free Software and why is it so important for society?

Protocols, not Platforms

For the most Linux-y experience on your Linux phone, try SXMO!

I am (nominally) the Armbian Maintainer for PineBook Pro (although severely lacking in time these days).
  Reply
#7
(07-06-2021, 05:26 PM)TRS-80 Wrote: VoLTE working on Walmart Family Mobile in US with GSM (T-Mobile) SIM, this is on Mobian, did not test others.

Based on fact that 4G stays showing during calls, I did not do any of command line stuff above.
simple way: use 4g only option in gui.

https://wiki.pine64.org/wiki/PinePhone#VoLTE
provides some options, i had to use minicom to access commands.
  Reply
#8
VoLTE confirmed working with Aldimobile (Telstra MVNO), Australia



EG25GGBR07A08M2G_30.007.30.007

+QMBNCFG: "List",14,1,1,"Telstra-Commercial_VoLTE",0x0580079E,202204021

+QCFG: "ims",1,1



Using Mobian with modem set to 4G only.

Calls work. SMS works in 4G only too.
Pinephone v1.2 UBports CE. Adelaide, Australia using Amaysim SIM (Optus network, VoLTE enabled) with Mobian SD card. VoLTE working also with Felix / Vodafone AU and Aldimobile / Telstra AU.
Manjaro Plasma Mobile on EMMC.
  Reply
#9
VoLTE confirmed working with Felix Mobile (TPG / Vodafone MVNO), Australia

EG25GGBR07A08M2G_30.007.30.007

+QMBNCFG: "List",0,1,1,"ROW_Generic_3GPP",0x0501081F,202112292

+QCFG: "ims",1,1


Using Mobian with modem set to 4G only.

Calls work. SMS works in 4G only too. Data also, of course.
Pinephone v1.2 UBports CE. Adelaide, Australia using Amaysim SIM (Optus network, VoLTE enabled) with Mobian SD card. VoLTE working also with Felix / Vodafone AU and Aldimobile / Telstra AU.
Manjaro Plasma Mobile on EMMC.
  Reply
#10
Hi all.
Sorry to hijack thread somewhat.
My first post here.

I tried PM'ing dcinoz with the following question about pinephone VoLTE support in Australia,
but my new account is restricted from doing so for some reason (I have not received a validation email, despite trying to resend it to myself several times).

Anyway, my question:

Judging by this thread, at this time:
Would it would be reasonably safe to assume I can get a pinephone working with 4G VoLTE on Vodafone, Australia?

I am prepared to open up a terminal and learn a little bit about configuring the pinephone's modem if necessary by flipping a few config bits to get it to work (would need help), if I really need to, but I won't have the time to learn AT language inside-out for some time.

Ultimately, hoping it has a good likelihood of "just working" to some extent, without extensive troubleshooting.

Vodafone switched off vanilla LTE support recently,
which ruined my oneplus's ability to make calls over plain LTE.
Yes, there are non-free closed source-ways apparently to enable VoLTE on oneplus phones,
but I've been wanting to make a jump to a pinephone for some time.

Thanks.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  pinephone with lte-m chip and volte zetabeta 0 697 10-02-2023, 05:42 AM
Last Post: zetabeta
  Buetooth handsfree calls on PinPhone alabasha 7 2,018 08-18-2023, 09:29 AM
Last Post: Zebulon Walton
  pinephone no longer receiving calls or texts jyoung 3 1,917 07-16-2023, 10:05 PM
Last Post: jyoung
  Current Situation With Setup and Carrier Activation With Tracfone Verizon T-Mobile pinephoneuser22 0 747 05-26-2023, 08:40 PM
Last Post: pinephoneuser22
  Handsfree bluetooth calls conifera 0 867 02-28-2023, 02:07 PM
Last Post: conifera
  MMS sending stopped working amindfv 2 1,315 01-16-2023, 09:44 PM
Last Post: treebeard
Sad PinePhone carrier support bucnham 2 1,234 12-27-2022, 12:37 AM
Last Post: rocket2nfinity
  Calls, SMS benedikt55 1 1,040 12-13-2022, 10:42 AM
Last Post: treebeard
  Can you make reliable calls yet? orbital 26 11,941 10-11-2022, 10:52 PM
Last Post: better
  Instructions to get pinephone working on USA carrier omarcomputing 1 1,420 10-08-2022, 04:45 PM
Last Post: treebeard

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)