long term plan for pine phone?
(07-26-2020, 10:05 AM)daniel Wrote:
(07-25-2020, 02:46 PM)dln949 Wrote: I am very  new to this.  

I understand that something called "community editions" have been made available.  My understanding is that a community edition means the phone is still not stable or fully developed, it is intended for technically-interested users.  

Does Pine64 intend to produce a stable pine phone intended for the ordinary public?  And, do they plan to do that long term?  

I can't take the time to play with something like a community edition, so I would like to wait for the stable or final version.  But, I don't want to get that if it isn't going to be a long term project by Pine64 (or someone) who will be around to provide support, maintenance, and development.

This is a great project, and I wish the best, so one day this will be for daily use.

However, I would say we are still far from that day. I am not a pro on this, but I have been following the project for a while. So much progress has been done. however, I haven't seen enough to think that this will be ready anytime soon.

Maybe someone with more experience in this kind of projects can shed some light on how they see this in a realistic way

I agree. Pinephone is not ready and it won't be ready for daily use for a loooooong period of time. Do not buy a pinephone expecting to get a super-smart phone for a very cheap price. For now, this is just a project. A hardware dream toy so developers can play and enthusiasts can admire and test (I am in the last group).

Having many OS make it just fun, giving freedom, nothing else what we should expect from Linux philosophy.

Many OS updates  have to come, and... and... many hardware versions have ALSO to come before having a final product (hey! this is linux, it wont be ever a final product, let's say 'functional' product)