Turn by Turn alternative GPS app in Mobian
#11
More Screenshots

We have a location!
[Image: ZrTV4nk.png]

A route is calculated and displayed. This causes navit to become almost completely unresponsive.

[Image: S1fMNlr.png]

The same as above in portrait for the discerning driver. You have to quit navit and reload in portrait.

[Image: YNCwa7h.png]
  Reply
#12
(08-05-2020, 12:09 PM)Baggypants Wrote: I have maps working on Navit. This issue is because the Debian packages don't contain the layout xml files needed to display the maps.

...

Edit2: Upstream packaging bug https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor...bug=967960

We can downstream the layout fix in Mobian provided that it seems like a reasonable fix that can be adopted upstream someday.
  Reply
#13
(08-07-2020, 10:25 AM)newton688 Wrote:
(08-05-2020, 12:09 PM)Baggypants Wrote: I have maps working on Navit. This issue is because the Debian packages don't contain the layout xml files needed to display the maps.

...

Edit2: Upstream packaging bug https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor...bug=967960

We can downstream the layout fix in Mobian provided that it seems like a reasonable fix that can be adopted upstream someday.
Wonderful, GeoClue support is being worked on right now too, could we downstream that as well?
  Reply
#14
(08-07-2020, 10:25 AM)newton688 Wrote:
(08-05-2020, 12:09 PM)Baggypants Wrote: I have maps working on Navit. This issue is because the Debian packages don't contain the layout xml files needed to display the maps.

...

Edit2: Upstream packaging bug https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor...bug=967960

We can downstream the layout fix in Mobian provided that it seems like a reasonable fix that can be adopted upstream someday.
I'd suggest adding separate packages such as navit-layouts-pinephone, navit-layouts-pinetab etc. so we can have something optimised without causing packaging conflicts.
  Reply
#15
> Wonderful, GeoClue support is being worked on right now too, could we downstream that as well?

Yes, I can confirm that the new GeoClue support works for at least an initial position fix. I haven't taken a trip with it yet though. Here's the link to the enhancement request and the feature branch:

https://github.com/navit-gps/navit/issues/1032
https://github.com/navit-gps/navit/tree/vehicle_geoclue

Now to figure out what the correct packaging for Mobian on pinephone should be. The out of the box navit.xml from Debian needs alot of work. There's no answer from Debian upstream about the missing layout.xml files.

I wonder if BaggyPants can share their navit.xml with the layouts from the screenshots, which are looking great.
  Reply
#16
This seems to only function with internet access, ( cell data, or wifi seems to work )
is that only for the map(s) or is there a true GPS within the modem ?

The refresh periods will determine if you can use this for distance calculations such as speed.

Would it be possible to pre-load maps ? ( Like my old Garmin hand held GPS used to do )

So far when I attempt to use the app on my phone, it sometimes shows my exact location within my house
While it also sometimes shows me 5 miles away on the side of a mountain. ? Very Inconsistent !
  Reply
#17
(08-20-2020, 06:50 PM)bcnaz Wrote: This seems to only function with internet access, ( cell data, or wifi seems to work )
is that only for the map(s)  or is there a true GPS within the modem ?

The refresh periods will determine if you can use this for distance calculations such as speed.

Would it be possible to pre-load maps ?  ( Like my old Garmin hand held GPS used to do )

So far when I attempt to use the app on my phone, it sometimes shows my exact location within my house
While it also sometimes shows me 5 miles away on the side of a mountain. ?  Very Inconsistent  !

I haven't tried using it truly offline yet, but from what I can tell it operates on map data you download into your device from a few different sources, such as openstreetmaps. GeoClue will need internet to do any geolocation without GNSS/GPS. However, it should pass on through satellite location if it is able to get a fix on your position with a nice clear view of the sky.

I have added my working (mostly) configuration and more details to the mobian wiki here: https://wiki.mobian-project.org/doku.php?id=navit
  Reply
#18
(08-20-2020, 06:50 PM)bcnaz Wrote: This seems to only function with internet access, ( cell data, or wifi seems to work )
is that only for the map(s)  or is there a true GPS within the modem ?

The refresh periods will determine if you can use this for distance calculations such as speed.

Would it be possible to pre-load maps ?  ( Like my old Garmin hand held GPS used to do )

So far when I attempt to use the app on my phone, it sometimes shows my exact location within my house
While it also sometimes shows me 5 miles away on the side of a mountain. ?  Very Inconsistent  !
There is a true GPS in the modem, but without AGPS data it needs a very good sky view or lucky positioning of satellites in order to get a fix. Enhancement request with link to proof-of-concept AGPS loading script:
https://gitlab.com/mobian1/devices/pinep...-/issues/3
Note that to get the AGPS data you need an internet connection, but the necessary file is small.
You may also need to use mmcli to enable the location reporting - I haven't tried it with geoclue so not sure which reporting you need to enable, if any.

GPS reports speed and heading directly, not just location, and all are available to anything using gpsd. Not sure about with geoclue.

I've only ever used navit with pre-loaded maps - I don't think it does online maps. In theory they could be packaged, but so far they haven't been so far as I know. I think most people use the online map extractor for the openstreetmap data.

I'd guess you've rarely, or never, had a GPS fix, and that mostly it's geoclue giving a rough position estimate based on cell or wifi data. See the comment about AGPS vs. lucky satellite positioning earlier.
  Reply
#19
(08-20-2020, 05:58 PM)newton688 Wrote: I wonder if BaggyPants can share their navit.xml with the layouts from the screenshots, which are looking great.

This is the layout

It's included in a simple line like

Code:
<xi:include href="/home/mobian/.navit/navitpine.xml"/>

with the references to the images updated to wherever the images are put.
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Announcing the Mobian project a-wai 171 27,007 38 minutes ago
Last Post: dukla2000
  Enabling nighlight in mobian phosh joz_mak 2 114 09-18-2020, 06:11 PM
Last Post: joz_mak
  Mobian builds SwordfishII 6 297 09-16-2020, 09:23 PM
Last Post: Cree
  Web browsing on Mobian bitnick 17 1,599 09-14-2020, 12:29 PM
Last Post: bitnick
  Mobian other Desktop Environments rico 17 1,874 09-13-2020, 12:05 PM
Last Post: nas
  HDMI on Mobian sundog 2 283 09-08-2020, 09:19 AM
Last Post: sundog
  Incoming SMS not working - Mobian LMalilil 4 288 09-06-2020, 04:15 PM
Last Post: LMalilil
  Mobian won't boot on convergence package Pinephone Mark53 11 768 09-05-2020, 08:51 PM
Last Post: SwordfishII
  Phone won't charge in Mobian ragreenburg 4 365 08-31-2020, 11:06 AM
Last Post: daniel
  Phone call audio issue in Mobian? Hiraghm 1 241 08-28-2020, 02:40 PM
Last Post: HLing

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)