PINE64
Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: ROCKPRO64 (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=98)
+--- Forum: Linux on RockPro64 (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=101)
+--- Thread: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? (/showthread.php?tid=9351)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - foresto - 04-24-2020

(04-24-2020, 03:39 PM)kuleszdl Wrote: Well, since Pine64 is focusing on the hardware someone from the community will have to step forward and do it.

That's a pity, because full Debian support would probably make the board more attractive to buyers. Seems like they're losing sales by not mainlining it.

Do you happen to know if recent mainline kernels get full performance from the PCIe bus? This would be important for the NAS use case.


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - kuleszdl - 04-24-2020

I agree, I would love having official full support as well.

Regarding PCIe performance: Nope, you will very likely not get that on Debian mainline ever. The reason is that setting this is not safe by default because some boards seem to be faulty as discussed in this thread: https://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=8374

However, this is "just" a matter of the DTB file and not the kernel itself. Therefore, you just need to patch the dts, compile it to obtain the "speedy" DTB once and put it "hard-wired" in your Debian system. At least this is my plan and it seems to work fine so far.


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - kuleszdl - 04-27-2020

There *IS* official support in Debian now (just in unstable)!

https://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=9744


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - foresto - 08-12-2020

(04-20-2020, 04:01 PM)kuleszdl Wrote: Update: I now have the following combo running:
  • Official Debian Buster
  • Official kernel from unstable
  • Self-compiled mainline u-boot (2020.03)
=> not a single, unofficial patch.

I'm about to try this myself. Which packages from unstable are you using?

Would you mind sharing your apt pinning config (presumably in /etc/apt/preferences.d)?

Did you use the debian installer and edit sources.list in the mounted /target filesystem, or did you do a manual debootstrap install, or something else?


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - jed - 08-13-2020

In addition to the official image, the FreedomBox article may be of use.


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - kuleszdl - 09-05-2020

@foresto

My approach is documented here: https://www.kulesz.me/post/140-debian-devuan-arm64-install/


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - n4tter4ngell - 10-20-2020

(09-05-2020, 03:21 PM)kuleszdl Wrote: @foresto

My approach is documented here: https://www.kulesz.me/post/140-debian-devuan-arm64-install/

Thank you very much for this @kuleszdl .

I'm trying to follow your guide, but I'm struggling a little with the partitioning of the virtual machine disk. I'm a little confused with the labelling. Are you using LVM on partition 3? If so, I assume that the volume group should be named "rootencrypted", and the logical volume "root"? Can you clarify this?


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - n4tter4ngell - 10-20-2020

(10-20-2020, 05:08 AM)n4tter4ngell Wrote:
(09-05-2020, 03:21 PM)kuleszdl Wrote: @foresto

My approach is documented here: https://www.kulesz.me/post/140-debian-devuan-arm64-install/

Thank you very much for this @kuleszdl .

I'm trying to follow your guide, but I'm struggling a little with the partitioning of the virtual machine disk. I'm a little confused with the labelling. Are you using LVM on partition 3? If so, I assume that the volume group should be named "rootencrypted", and the logical volume "root"? Can you clarify this?

given the later instructions in your blog post, I assume you're not using LVM.

However, when creating partition #3 in qemu, I create a "physical volume for encryption" and name it "rootencrypted". I then choose "configure encrypted volumes" in the partitioning menu, and create a partition in this physical volume. The created partition is automatically named "vda3_crypt", not "root", and there is no way to change the name. Consequently, /etc/crypttab and /etc/fstab in the installed system also refers to vda3_crypt.

Is this irrelevant given that the later instructions will manually create the f2fs formatted partition with the correct name?


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - kuleszdl - 10-31-2020

@n4tter4ngell Sorry for the late reply.

No, I am not using LVM as I try to keep the setup as simple as possible. I will try to record how I did the partitioning for you, hoping this will help.


RE: Mainline Debian Buster on RockPro64 ? - kuleszdl - 10-31-2020

"n4tter4ngell" - I updated my post and included a video with the detailed steps for partitioning.

Please don't be confused how the installer names the crypto device (sda3_crypt or vda3_crypt). That's just the name of the device, not the name of the partition label. Maybe this is what actually might have confused you? I added a hint, pointing this out more clearly (hopefully).

Once again, thank you for your feedback!