PINE64
debian+phosh running on PinePhone - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=120)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=121)
+---- Forum: Mobian on PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=139)
+---- Thread: debian+phosh running on PinePhone (/showthread.php?tid=9016)



RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - a-wai - 04-13-2020

(04-13-2020, 09:19 AM)Luke Wrote: Do you guys have ideas how to make the volume buttons work?

Not really, no.
libinput sees the events, so my guess is there's something missing between phosh and the apps, but I have no idea what that could be...

This phosh issue seems to be related, but I don't know more.


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - NotAus1 - 04-13-2020

(04-10-2020, 03:30 PM)nas Wrote:
(04-10-2020, 05:31 AM)NotAus1 Wrote: Hi, I try to use PP for connecting to whatsapp (bad word, I know ), navigation and photos. Did not manage to get any of those working yet.
Not a photo and not location via gps. Maybe someone could give a hint, where I could start. 

The camera doesn't work currently but whatsapp-web might be possible.

For the maps issue, have you turned on location services in the privacy settings menu?
ok, location service is on. OSMScout-server+pureMaps won't show location. Maybe I have to try gpsd in addition ?


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - nas - 04-13-2020

Looks like I deleted my post somehow so here's the short version: you can install anbox and its modules but there appears to be a problem somewhere.

1) install modules
2) sudo apt install anbox
3) download android image and move to /var/lib/anbox/android.img
4) sudo systemctl start anbox-container-manager.service
5) systemctl --user start anbox-session-manager.service
6) anbox launch --package=org.anbox.appmgr --component=org.anbox.appmgr.AppViewActivity

Code:
[launch.cpp:214@operator()] Session manager failed to become ready

--

Fixed:

a) make sure to select android.img from android-image-working.tar.gz
b) sudo apt install android-tools-adb
c) adb install random.apk (random android apk files are available online)
d) sudo /usr/share/anbox/anbox-shell.sh (if you need root access)
e) some links to information sources


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - Concrete_panda - 04-13-2020

Hey guys,

is it actually enough to update my phone with 

Code:
sudo apt update
sudo apt dist-upgrade 


or do I need to flash a new image regularly?

Best,
Thomas


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - dukla2000 - 04-13-2020

(04-13-2020, 07:38 AM)a-wai Wrote: A few cosmetic details have changed ("King's Cross" now appears as "Terminal")

Awe - that was a lovely quirky touch Sad
 
(04-13-2020, 07:38 AM)a-wai Wrote: Finally, thanks to @rico we now have a network connection and serial console through USB! All you have to do to enable it is install the pinephone-devtools package, then reboot.

You folks are fantastic - thank you Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin

(04-13-2020, 08:15 AM)rico Wrote: ...
And to all my PinePhone friends, keep in mind it's still in development stage Wink

Spoilsport Wink In my day software was production ready if it compiled! Ask young Mr Gates about MS-DOS!

(04-13-2020, 02:45 PM)Concrete_panda Wrote: Hey guys,

is it actually enough to update my phone with 

Code:
sudo apt update
sudo apt dist-upgrade 


or do I need to flash a new image regularly?

Best,
Thomas

Normally an update/upgrade is sufficient - in this case it was for me. Occasionally @a-wai has flagged a re-install is necessary though.


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - Boern - 04-13-2020

(04-13-2020, 02:07 PM)nas Wrote: 6) anbox launch --package=org.anbox.appmgr --component=org.anbox.appmgr.AppViewActivity

Code:
[launch.cpp:214@operator()] Session manager failed to become ready

The logs suggest network bridge or lxc problem - it may be similar to this github issue.

It actually worked for me. I sometimes had scaling issues, where the screen seemed to be a few pixels above the touch input and text input seemed to input weird characters instead of what I typed (equals sign instead of backspace) but I've never had anbox work as good on any device before. Thanks!

So, even though it isn't working for you, we seem to be on the right track.


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - nas - 04-13-2020

(04-13-2020, 03:24 PM)Boern Wrote: It actually worked for me. I sometimes had scaling issues, where the screen seemed to be a few pixels above the touch input and text input seemed to input weird characters instead of what I typed (equals sign instead of backspace) but I've never had anbox work as good on any device before. Thanks!

So, even though it isn't working for you, we seem to be on the right track.

That's good news, care to share a photo?  Smile

I had a similar input issue in retroarch - seems to be a squeekboard quirk.

I guess something is iffy with my setup so I may just need to flash the latest image. Otherwise, this github thread seems pretty close to my problem.


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - Luke - 04-13-2020

@a-wai this is probably very low on the to-do list, but in pmOS + Phosh build there is a settings option to change the wallpaper ... would be nice to have in this build too.


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - Boern - 04-13-2020

(04-13-2020, 04:13 PM)nas Wrote: That's good news, care to share a photo?  Smile

I could even set the German language. Of course, now that I want to take a screenshot of it I can't reproduce the bug with the messed up screen placement.

Ah, well, here's anbox running on the pinephone:

.png   2020-04-14-074843.png (Size: 185.46 KB / Downloads: 1,649)
[Image: attachment.php?aid=1772]

And running the calculator app:

.png   2020-04-14-075057.png (Size: 53.76 KB / Downloads: 1,432)
[Image: attachment.php?aid=1771]


RE: debian+phosh running on PinePhone - bcnaz - 04-14-2020

Minor  annoyance :

Phone rings on full volume for incoming call,   while already on an existing call.

call waiting normally chirps or beeps when you get a second call.

I have not tried switching to the second incoming call,  ...   has someone else... I am curious  ?

>  Not complaining,   this is as it should be, except for it being a different 'ringtone'... ?

I would rather this than no notification of a second call.