PINE64
Does rock64 have a RTC - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: ROCK64 (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=85)
+--- Forum: General Discussion on ROCK64 (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=86)
+--- Thread: Does rock64 have a RTC (/showthread.php?tid=6122)

Pages: 1 2


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - jata - 06-15-2018

thanks. I also have a raspberry pi and have no problem getting the RTC to work with it. I even wrote a guide on the OMV forum to help others.

https://forum.openmediavault.org/index.php/Thread/23217-GUIDE-Setting-up-a-RTC-on-raspberry-pi-on-OMV-4-Stretch/

The issue with rock64 is:

1. i'm not sure which end of the GPIO board is which. I have tried putting it at all four ends.
2 There is no config.txt file in the /boot directory on the rock64

Basically, the board does not seem to detect the RTC.


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - pfeerick - 06-15-2018

(06-15-2018, 03:50 PM)jata Wrote: 1. i'm not sure which end of the GPIO board is which. I have tried putting it at all four ends.
2  There is no config.txt file in the /boot directory on the rock64

Basically, the board does not seem to detect the RTC.

Pin 1 (as marked on the board itself) on the rock64 is the same as pin 1 on the raspberry pi...

No, there is no config.txt because it isn't configured the same as the RPi, so a RPi guide will only get you so far. /boot/efi/extlinux/extlinux.conf will let you set any kernel boot time arguments that you need though. I believe you also need to actually enable I2C now via the dts overlays? Since as of 0.6.27 all devices (except SPDIF) exposed via the GPIO pins are disabled by default.


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - jata - 06-15-2018

Thanks. That is helpful. I think you are correct about dts overlays - as they are set in config.txt on the RPI.

I just have no idea how to set them on the rock64. Does anyone have any idea?


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - pfeerick - 06-16-2018

(06-15-2018, 05:04 PM)jata Wrote: I just have no idea how to set them on the rock64. Does anyone have any idea?

Just in case you didn't realise, there was a link in my earlier reply that may have answered that question. Wink

The example given on that page (which you run from the command line) is

Code:
enable_dtoverlay eth1 [email protected] okay

... and is an example of enabling eth1 (which would be the second Ethernet port available via the DAC shield for the rock64). 

Following that syntax and the instruction to look at the DTS include file for the device names, I would suggest that to enable I2C bus 0 (which looks to be on pins 3 & 5 from the GPIO doc, the below should work...

Code:
enable_dtoverlay i2c0 [email protected] okay

Give it a try, and see if you pick up the RTC now using i2cdetect -y 0


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - jata - 06-19-2018

Thanks for all the help everyone. I was only trying to make the I2C RTC work on rock64 as an experiment/test. Got quite close but have given up for now as my RTC module does not fit well on the board - battery touches other pins and got very hot so I immediately stopped my experiment :-)

Thanks again


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - pfeerick - 06-19-2018

(06-19-2018, 05:05 PM)jata Wrote: Thanks for all the help everyone. I was only trying to make the I2C RTC work on rock64 as an experiment/test. Got quite close but have given up for now as my RTC module does not fit well on the board - battery touches other pins and got very hot so I immediately stopped my experiment :-)

Thanks again

Cellotape or scotch tape  on the underside of the board might help in a pinch, although if you have some proper electrical insulating tape that would be better as it is thicker. Kapton tape is another option. Wink

Good call on stopping... getting hot is not a good thing, especially if it is the battery warming up! Big Grin


RE: Does rock64 have a RTC - tllim - 06-20-2018

Attached is the RTC Battery connection circuit, some modification to board is needed.