PINE64

Full Version: General question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am really wanting to get into coding or programming. I have little to no experience past a basic visual basic course in college. But the idea is just facinating. You can build and create something from your mind...it is just cool! My problem is i have no idea where to start. The there are so many languages and tutorials out there. I seem to always go down several paths and never get really good at anything. Any advice or pointers?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk
(10-28-2016, 11:47 PM)B.simp404@gmail.com Wrote: [ -> ]I am really wanting to get into coding or programming. ...  My problem is i have no idea where to start ... Any advice or pointers?

I haven't played with it too much myself for the programming aspect (too time poor at the moment), but I would strongly recommend (and I hope Mark will jump in here and add more on this/with some good guides Wink  ) that you strongly consider Python. You can program stuff that manipulates the pine64 GPIO headers, does internet stuff, does local processing, all sorts of things. And it's easily transferable to other platforms like PCs, Raspberry Pi... there's even the MicroPython micro-controller board. Plus, once you learn the basics of one objected-oriented programming language, others (like C++, Java) are relatively easy to pick up.
(10-29-2016, 12:32 AM)pfeerick Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-28-2016, 11:47 PM)B.simp404@gmail.com Wrote: [ -> ]I am really wanting to get into coding or programming. ...  My problem is i have no idea where to start ... Any advice or pointers?

I haven't played with it too much myself for the programming aspect (too time poor at the moment), but I would strongly recommend (and I hope Mark will jump in here and add more on this/with some good guides Wink  ) that you strongly consider Python.