Modem network registration fails
Hi,

I've been messing around with my pinephone BH for a few months now and cannot get cellular network to work.
I have tested mobian, ubports, pmos and sailfish and all can recognize the sim card (tried two different carriers) and unlock it (also tried with no PIN) but they cannot register to the network.

I have also tried to debug with modem manager, and it can indeed find the various carriers' networks, just cannot register.

Does anyone have any idea regarding what the problem could be ?

Thanks in advance
(05-28-2020, 06:13 AM)docteur_saoul Wrote: Hi,

I've been messing around with my pinephone BH for a few months now and cannot get cellular network to work.
I have tested mobian, ubports, pmos and sailfish and all can recognize the sim card (tried two different carriers) and unlock it (also tried with no PIN) but they cannot register to the network.

I have also tried to debug with modem manager, and it can indeed find the various carriers' networks, just cannot register.

Does anyone have any idea regarding what the problem could be ?

Thanks in advance

Try pushing switch 1 OFF then ON again? (In the very early days someone reported out of the box the switches seemed to be unpredictable after shipping.)

In Mobian, Settings, Mobile what are you seeing? And in Modem Details?

And when you say "doesn't work" do you mean calls and/or SMS and/or data?
  • ROCKPro64 v2.1 2GB, 16Gb eMMC for rootfs, SX8200Pro 512GB NVMe for /home, HDMI video & sound, Bluetooth keyboard & mouse. Arch (6.2 kernel, Openbox desktop) for general purpose daily PC.
  • PinePhone Pro Explorer Edition, daily driver, rk2aw & U-boot on SPI, Arch/SXMO & Arch/phosh on eMMC
  • PinePhone BraveHeart now v1.2b 3/32Gb, Tow-boot with Arch/SXMO on eMMC
Thanks for your reply !

Yes, i've already checked the switches, they work as expected.