Getting started documentation
Are there any getting started documents or posts for the cluster board? I tried setting it up, but I'm not getting very far.
I have 1 module installed, but the green lights for each slot just blink. I also don't get anything from the serial cable I've hooked up to it (using pins 7, 8, and 9).
I don't know if there's anything I need to do to power the module on or something?

I'm a newbie, so don't worry about hurting my feelings by telling me basic stuff.  Big Grin
Not really yet... all there is at the moment is what you can see here in this section of the forum... it's still pretty new and there aren't many people using it.

What I've learnt so far...
  • all the individual NIC lights will blink regardless of if there is a module connected to them or not as that will be each chip talking to the on-board switch.
  • the xenial-minimal-sopine-bspkernel-0.7.19-118.img.xz image seems the better one to use... I had issues with the *stable* 0.6.x sopine image
  • make sure you use the right header... it's the one to the LEFT of the module you're trying to talk to Wink (no comment)
  • you've got the right pins there... if you're not getting any activity... try swapping the TX/RX (7/8) just to be sure... you should at least get boot messages... and then have to just start logging in as you won't get prompt if you open the serial console after boot has finished
  • may be my board/modules, but slot #0 seems to run a bit hotter than slot #1, and the NIC on slot #1 seems to be a bit... temperamental and occasionally stopped even though the compute module was still running fine
  • once you get your modules running, you can make PB7 flash like a heartbeat indicator (led for each module is at the front of the board near the usb ports) or whatever you want... I have it do a regular heartbeat every 10 seconds or so just to say "I'm still alive 'n haven't crashed yet!"
Thanks for the info pfeerik.