(ARCHIVED) Ubuntu Xenial Image (BSP Kernel)
#91
(04-05-2016, 09:42 AM)janjwerner Wrote: edit the /etc/apt/sources.list 
sudo vim /etc/apt/sources.list
find the lines:

#deb http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial universe
#deb-src http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial universe
#deb http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial-updates universe
#deb-src http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial-updates universe


and remove the hash sign that denotes the comment. 
afterwards type
sudo apt-get update

hope this helps

My newer images should have universe and multiverse enabled by default. See https://github.com/longsleep/build-pine6...#L180-L191
#92
(04-03-2016, 09:23 AM)Andrew2 Wrote:
(04-03-2016, 08:35 AM)longsleep Wrote:
(04-03-2016, 07:00 AM)Andrew2 Wrote: It's about hdmi_cts_compatibility, that has to be set to 1 if one wants to use a DVI display with BSP kernel. In Armbian we implemented a quick&dirty script to adjust display settings on H3 boards: h3disp that could be adopted easily (by Lenny Raposo for example ;Wink ) to a a64disp version that uses dtc instead bin2fex/fex2bin. Everything else can remain pretty identical (of course device-tree-compiler package should be added to the list of default packages).

This is a lot of code just to change display settings. I would very much prefer to have settings for this in U-Boot so people can configure it using uEnv.txt.

Hmm... I haven't looked really into it, just grepped through linux-pine64/drivers/video/sunxi... isn't there EDID support available (maybe adding 'disp.screen0_output_mode=EDID' to kernel cmdline necessary)?


just booted my p64  with the 'disp.screen0_output_mode=EDID'  cmd line/

on my DELL U2410, i get no video by default.    by using that cmdline flag, i get working video. :-)

(this doesn't help my little 7" screen, though - it's not supporting the resolution, i'm sure)
#93
I only get 100-200kbit/s via the gigabit ethernet port of my pine64 2gb. That is just way to slow to use. I tested it via a wget from my local NAS connected via gigabit ethernet too.
#94
Try using iperf instead of downloading data from NAS. This will be much more reliable with less points you do not control.
#95
Question 
(04-05-2016, 04:40 AM)Luke Wrote:
(04-04-2016, 10:54 PM)Terra854 Wrote:
(04-04-2016, 09:13 AM)Luke Wrote: Yup works like a charm. Thank you so much Longsleep! I installed Mate desktop on the image and wrote up a short review over at the Mate forums if anyone cares Smile

https://ubuntu-mate.community/t/pine-64-...-mate/4775

How did you install Ubuntu Mate? Did you add any repositories? What packages you install?
I installed it from the PPA. But you can just run install_mate_desktop.sh under usr/local/sbin

hi @Luke - [img]file:///Users/yuetsu/Documents/avatars/FF_224.jpg[/img]

i ran that /usr/local/sbin/install_mate_desktop.sh - seemed to work ok and i can work for a while in it as a GUI desktop, but occasionally, especially when installing something with apt-get from the command line, suddenly the screen just goes all dark green yet blank (has happend a few times) or flat light grey yet blank (happened once). is this screen drivers? also, i can't get firefox, that comes with ubuntu mate, to run, crashes on launch every time, don't think i've seen the actual firefox browser window but once for a few seconds, and before i could type anything in a url box, it crashed. i've tried installing konqueror using sudo apt-get install but even with just the command line, i suddenly get a blank screen for that too. i have run @longsleep 's script to re-size the partition so i'm using all 64 GB on my micro SD card. any ideas what could be happening? A64+ board with 2 GB and gigbit ethernet, connected via ethernet. please let me know. thank you in advance.


best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

(04-05-2016, 09:42 AM)janjwerner Wrote:
(04-04-2016, 10:09 PM)faddah Wrote:
(02-29-2016, 12:49 PM)longsleep Wrote:
(02-29-2016, 10:06 AM)janjwerner Wrote: 1. resize the second partition (rootfs) to span the card
2. resize the file system to span the partition

I have a script for that https://github.com/longsleep/build-pine6..._rootfs.sh - run with sudo on your Pine.

the link for that one has changed now to here:  https://github.com/longsleep/build-pine6..._rootfs.sh

best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

(02-29-2016, 10:06 AM)janjwerner Wrote: Works like a charm so far.
Things to do after you dd image to your sd card:
1. resize the second partition (rootfs) to span the card
2. resize the file system to span the partition
3. add the universe repository in /etc/apt/sources.list
4. sudo apt-get update
5. sudo apt-get upgrade
6. sudo apt-get install xubuntu-desktop
7. wait for 2.6gb
8. reboot in the graphical environment
9. Win. Thanks Longsleep Wink


hi @janjwerner & @longsleep,

so please pardon my linux/ubuntu ignorance and lack of fu, but i understand the rest of that, just not #3 — "add the universe repository in /etc/apt/sources.list." what is the specific line to add, and where, please? or a link to instructions on how to do that, please?

thank you in advance.

best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

Hey Faddah, 
edit the /etc/apt/sources.list 
sudo vim /etc/apt/sources.list
find the lines:

#deb http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial universe
#deb-src http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial universe
#deb http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial-updates universe
#deb-src http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial-updates universe


and remove the hash sign that denotes the comment. 
afterwards type
sudo apt-get update

hope this helps

@janjwerner & @longsleep - it did! thank you! up and running now, even used the script to install ubuntu mate. more in next post to @longsleep. but thank you for all the kind help, all!

best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

(04-04-2016, 05:29 PM)eender Wrote: this doesnt even support my german keyboard

@33nder —

if you run...
Code:
$ sudo apt update
and then...
Code:
$ sudo apt upgrade

...it will likely offer you keyboard language choices, as it did for me. i stuck with my u.s. english, you can choose Deutsch, Dvorak, whatever you like.
best,
—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.
#96
(04-05-2016, 11:29 PM)faddah Wrote:
(04-05-2016, 04:40 AM)Luke Wrote:
(04-04-2016, 10:54 PM)Terra854 Wrote:
(04-04-2016, 09:13 AM)Luke Wrote: Yup works like a charm. Thank you so much Longsleep! I installed Mate desktop on the image and wrote up a short review over at the Mate forums if anyone cares Smile

https://ubuntu-mate.community/t/pine-64-...-mate/4775

How did you install Ubuntu Mate? Did you add any repositories? What packages you install?
I installed it from the PPA. But you can just run install_mate_desktop.sh under usr/local/sbin

hi @Luke - [img]file:///Users/yuetsu/Documents/avatars/FF_224.jpg[/img]

i ran that /usr/local/sbin/install_mate_desktop.sh - seemed to work ok and i can work for a while in it as a GUI desktop, but occasionally, especially when installing something with apt-get from the command line, suddenly the screen just goes all dark green yet blank (has happend a few times) or flat light grey yet blank (happened once). is this screen drivers? also, i can't get firefox, that comes with ubuntu mate, to run, crashes on launch every time, don't think i've seen the actual firefox browser window but once for a few seconds, and before i could type anything in a url box, it crashed. i've tried installing konqueror using sudo apt-get install but even with just the command line, i suddenly get a blank screen for that too. i have run @longsleep 's script to re-size the partition so i'm using all 64 GB on my micro SD card. any ideas what could be happening? A64+ board with 2 GB and gigbit ethernet, connected via ethernet. please let me know. thank you in advance.


best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

(04-05-2016, 09:42 AM)janjwerner Wrote:
(04-04-2016, 10:09 PM)faddah Wrote:
(02-29-2016, 12:49 PM)longsleep Wrote:
(02-29-2016, 10:06 AM)janjwerner Wrote: 1. resize the second partition (rootfs) to span the card
2. resize the file system to span the partition

I have a script for that https://github.com/longsleep/build-pine6..._rootfs.sh - run with sudo on your Pine.

the link for that one has changed now to here:  https://github.com/longsleep/build-pine6..._rootfs.sh

best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

(02-29-2016, 10:06 AM)janjwerner Wrote: Works like a charm so far.
Things to do after you dd image to your sd card:
1. resize the second partition (rootfs) to span the card
2. resize the file system to span the partition
3. add the universe repository in /etc/apt/sources.list
4. sudo apt-get update
5. sudo apt-get upgrade
6. sudo apt-get install xubuntu-desktop
7. wait for 2.6gb
8. reboot in the graphical environment
9. Win. Thanks Longsleep Wink


hi @janjwerner & @longsleep,

so please pardon my linux/ubuntu ignorance and lack of fu, but i understand the rest of that, just not #3 — "add the universe repository in /etc/apt/sources.list." what is the specific line to add, and where, please? or a link to instructions on how to do that, please?

thank you in advance.

best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

Hey Faddah, 
edit the /etc/apt/sources.list 
sudo vim /etc/apt/sources.list
find the lines:

#deb http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial universe
#deb-src http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial universe
#deb http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial-updates universe
#deb-src http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ xenial-updates universe


and remove the hash sign that denotes the comment. 
afterwards type
sudo apt-get update

hope this helps

@janjwerner & @longsleep - it did! thank you! up and running now, even used the script to install ubuntu mate. more in next post to @longsleep. but thank you for all the kind help, all!

best,

—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

(04-04-2016, 05:29 PM)eender Wrote: this doesnt even support my german keyboard

@33nder —

if you run...
Code:
$ sudo apt update
and then...
Code:
$ sudo apt upgrade

...it will likely offer you keyboard language choices, as it did for me. i stuck with my u.s. english, you can choose Deutsch, Dvorak, whatever you like.
best,
—  faddah
     portland, oregon, u.s.a.

Sorry for getting back this late to you faddah - busy day at work. I see that your problem has been solved; regarding Firefox, I dont think it works particularly well (for whatever reason) at the moment. I can only recommend you use the Midori browser (sudo apt-get install midori) which works a treat Smile
#97
(04-05-2016, 11:10 AM)luggi Wrote: I only get 100-200kbit/s via the gigabit ethernet port of my pine64 2gb. That is just way to slow to use. I tested it via a wget from my local NAS connected via gigabit ethernet too.

I am seeing the same problem. I tested with iperf3.
#98
(04-06-2016, 07:10 AM)cfilipescu Wrote:
(04-05-2016, 11:10 AM)luggi Wrote: I only get 100-200kbit/s via the gigabit ethernet port of my pine64 2gb. That is just way to slow to use. I tested it via a wget from my local NAS connected via gigabit ethernet too.

I am seeing the same problem. I tested with iperf3.

Yes, i can confirm here with my Pine64, very slow rates with GBit-Lan. Going down to


Code:
ethtool -s eth0 speed 100 autoneg off

improves a little, but still only about 15MBits via iperf.....
Still a linux newbie with several EEE-PCs, PI's, LattePanda and some Desktops/Laptops running Win10. Now also proudly using Pine64+ 2GB and gigabit LAN
#99
Well, i do not know - i guess there are some incompatibilities with certain switches.

This is what you get with any of my images without further optimization regarding IRQ's and buffer sizes. The tests below is running Ubuntu Xenial on Pine and the other end is a ODROID-C1+ which is probably not optimal but i did not want to max out the Pine64 and instead just check _if_ i could reproduce a problem on the 2GB model.

Pine64+2GB as server:
Code:
root@pine64-2gb:~# iperf -s
------------------------------------------------------------
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 85.3 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  4] local 192.168.1.59 port 5001 connected with 192.168.1.232 port 42916
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  4]  0.0-10.0 sec   475 MBytes   398 Mbits/sec

Pine64+2GB as client:
Code:
root@pine64-2gb:~# iperf -c 192.168.1.232
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.232, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 22.5 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  3] local 192.168.1.59 port 51122 connected with 192.168.1.232 port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  3]  0.0-10.0 sec   555 MBytes   465 Mbits/sec

There are some other numbers in the forum somewhere already, including instructions how to tune things a bit more.
I am not sure if it will help, but I just wanted to throw this out there.

I was having problems with my pine running Ubuntu dropping every few packets when running a constant ping from my windows box: "ping -t -w 25 pine"
I tried a bunch of things in software, nothing seemed to solve the problem. Out of frustration, I just unplugged the Ethernet cable, waited for 5 ping fails, then plugged it back in. After that the connection was flawless. I have no idea why it did this, but it is consistent. Every time I have weird packet loss issues, unplugging and replugging the pine into the switch "fixes" it until the next reboot. I tried swapping ports on my switch with my raspberry pi, which doesn't have this issue, but it seems specific to the pine. To me this sounds similar to what you are experiencing. If it's dropping packets, your speed tests will be significantly impacted by failed TCP packets that need to be re-sent.


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Ubuntu server 20.04 request phi0x 2 5,352 12-30-2020, 08:02 PM
Last Post: phi0x
  Xenial Minimal Image (PINE A64(+)) 0.6.2-77 pineadmin 4 21,584 08-30-2020, 10:35 AM
Last Post: jrronimo
  Kickstarter P64 with LCD, working image? MostHated 1 4,484 01-04-2020, 10:32 AM
Last Post: igorp
  USB Wireless Drivers with Longsleep Linux Kernel jacobscarter 15 24,839 03-06-2019, 02:26 PM
Last Post: tllim
  Allwinner A64 RTC bug fix on bionic image? tkaivola 1 4,823 02-01-2019, 05:09 AM
Last Post: tllim
  SPI on ubuntu IlyaM 4 9,210 07-16-2018, 03:00 AM
Last Post: kingflab
  Ubuntu password not working joemassimino 4 8,642 05-18-2018, 03:33 PM
Last Post: Luke
  How can I get a wireless dongle working on Xenial Desktop latest build Rocklobster 1 4,004 04-16-2018, 03:09 PM
Last Post: Rocklobster
  After flashing Ubuntu- how to get graphical desktop Partymack711 6 10,950 02-01-2018, 09:45 AM
Last Post: Partymack711
  PPTP doesnt work with ubuntu escovedo 2 8,761 08-23-2017, 09:28 AM
Last Post: gilbertotcc

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)