DisplayPort Out question
Hi,
I am new at this so bear with me.
Plugged in a USB-C hub with DP out with the default image that shipped and no alt video.
Tried to patch, same issue.
I tried a second image (archlinux-pinephone-pro-plasma-20220124.img.xz) on a SD card and same issue. No alt video out. USB KBD and track pad work.

What an I missing?

Thanks.
Update:
I have also tried Mobian (mobian-pinephonepro-phosh-20220116.img) and still no luck.
And I tried HDMI out without success.
Disclaimer: I don't own a PinePhone Pro, (but I do own a Pinebook Pro with the same SoC / CPU).

Are you sure your "USB-C hub with DP out" device uses DisplayPort protocol on the phone side?

The original USB-C alternate mode for video was DisplayPort. However, the HDMI people wanted the same treatment, so they created a different USB-C alternate mode for HDMI, which is totally in-compatible with "USB-C alternate mode for DisplayPort:".

A USB-C alternate mode for video device can have any monitor connector on it, like HDMI, DisplayPort or VGA. A simple, (or complex), converter is needed. However, the SoC / CPU used in the PinePhone Pro, (and Pinebook Pro), requires USB-C alternate mode DISPLAYPORT. Without that, it won't work. (Of course, software support is also required....)

Vendors have been a bit vague on what there device specifications are, at times. Some outright leave off what the host side protocol is, USB-C alt. mode DisplayPort, or USB-C alt. mode HDMI.

Good luck. Maybe someone else has better information.
--
Arwen Evenstar
Princess of Rivendale
Thanks Arwen,
I am just going on the sales info here (https://www.pine64.org/pinephonepro/) and honestly it seems to say that this is a simple, easy, automatic, built in feature. It is in fact 95% of the reason I bought the phone.