Pinephone Application Compatibility
Thumbs Up 
Hi

I'm new to Linux phone and want to know what i can do with pinephone as a daily driver.
I don't really use too many apps on IOS but some applications are important like messaging and maybe clients for forums like reddit, etc.

Can i install any mainstream messaging app on Pinephone? (signal, session, etc)

Can i install clients to open reddit or other forums?

Thanks in advance.
I shouldn't really put much faith in web browsing in general.
In my experience, Qutebrowser is the fastest browser based on QtWebEngine (which is a stripped down Chromium engine).
Though I feel like Firefox ESR performs much better these days, but still wouldn't open up more than 4 tabs at the same time.
And you can thank "modern" web developers for that for making websites more resource demanding than your average 3D video game made by a AAA developer.

As for messaging, I don't really use anything other than XMPP these days, simply because I can't trust any other ones (I'd put IRC 2nd since even though it has no end to end encryption at all, at least there's no central authority involved).
XMPP is very well usable on the PinePhone, both Gajim and Dino work amazing on Phosh, though on Plasma Mobile you'll be better off with Dino Mobile, simply because both of them are GTK-based, and Plamo is still pretty lacky with GTK apps.
Pidgin (yet another GTK app) would probably work really well too, but I didn't try that one out myself.
IRC should work with HexChat, but IRC is so light it would even perform very well on a dinosaur bone, so no way you can't use it on a PinePhone.

As for other messengers, I heard there are unofficial clients for WhatsApp and Signal, but no experience.
Telegram comes pre-installed in many distro's, it's the desktop app, so you will still need to have an iOS or Android in order to login I believe.
For Matrix there's Mirage, but it's super slow when I last used it.