Bluetooth Connectivity
Hello!

I had recently purchased the dev kit package for the PineTime watch (one unsealed, one sealed) and have been having a lot of fun playing around with it. It's a new area for me and I've definitely learned a good deal from it!

With that being said, I want to stress that I'm by no means an expert with things like Bluetooth. I understand how it works and how to interact with it via code, but I couldn't tell you all the truly intricate details of it.

For reference, any tests or scenarios I mention below are using InfiniTime 1.6 with a custom app I had put on it to act as a simple remote control. I based the structure of the app off of the Music app's play/pause button implementation since that was essentially what I needed, just for a different use case that connects to my PC. It has been working perfectly fine and doing exactly what I expected in terms of functionality.

However, the one issue I've had is in regards to the Bluetooth cutting out more than I would've expected it to. There are times where I'm in direct line-of-sight of the adapter for my PC, standing approximately 12 - 15 or so feet from it, and it would start to get more latency and then typically disconnect. It would then reconnect intermittently until I got closer to the adapter, at which point it would be fine again. This would also happen if I was right below the adapter in my kitchen (maybe 7 or so feet, with only a few 2x4s separating the top of the kitchen from the floor above).

So, I tried the following to diagnose it:
  • Connected to my phone instead of the PC adapter. Had the same results
  • Tried a different PC adapter. Same results
  • Tried using both the sealed and unsealed watches in the same situations described above. Had the same results for both in all cases