Preload
Has anyone used "preload" on the pinephone? (link: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Preload)
With preload the startup time of programs should be reduced, in exchange for a little bit more ram-usage. And I can imagine that it costs a little bit of battery.
I have tried it (on mobian) for a day and it seems to work. I have not done any measurements, but will compare with my 2nd pinephone soon. 

I'm curious whether other people have tried "preload", or maybe can benefit from it.
I've never used it before, it seems interesting but not something I need. The heaviest application I use is Firefox and I simply have it run at boot and keep it open for as long as I'm using the phone.

Code:
cp /usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop ~/.config/autostart/

I don't know the details of Preload, perhaps it's more nuanced, but this has been enough for me.
I haven't tried it but I believe preloading is not something new. Not knocking it either. I wonder if the pinephone os rootfs can be preloaded (load to RAM) and just use the emmc/sdcard as storage writes.
(10-06-2021, 11:27 AM)Fish Wrote: Has anyone used "preload" on the pinephone? (link: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Preload)

I have Smile
At first I was very optimistic that this background daemon greatly reduced the start-up time of e.g. Firefox.
I tried different configurations and let it run for about 1 week. I never got it to use up more than about 220 MB of RAM. This seems a lot but I really tried to make it use up as much free RAM as possible but could not manage.

So then I did some clock-wall measurements and found that the whole thing makes no (real) difference (to me). On the other hand, the CPU load it causes every 20 seconds is a) feelable (even the Terminal lags shortly, UI more so) and hearable (!): there is a short cracking sound every 20 seconds. I could not find a configuration which does not cause this behaviour (I thought I found it but the next day the cracking went off again).