Arch auto mount usb example
#1
After 2 days of head banging and following the wrong answers on google, I finally got my usb to auto mount as user on the Arch Phosh install.

There is no guaranties this will work as everything in linux is dynamic and what worked one day doesn't the next. 

Here is what I did I create 3 file  

/etc/udev/rules.d/99-usb-mount.rules

Quote:ACTION=="add",KERNEL=="sd[a-z][0-9]*",SUBSYSTEMS=="usb",RUN+="/bin/systemctl start usb-mount@%k.service"

ACTION=="remove",KERNEL=="sd[a-z][0-9]*",SUBSYSTEMS=="usb",RUN+="/bin/systemctl stop usb-mount@%k.service"


/etc/systemd/system/usb-mount@.service
Quote:[Unit]
Description=Mount USB Drive on %i
[Service]
Type=simple
User=alarm
Group=alarm
ExecStart=/home/alarm/bin/mountusb.sh add %i
ExecStop=/home/alarm/bin/mountusb.sh remove %i
RemainAfterExit=true
[Install]
WantedBy=default.target



/home/alarm/bin/mountusb.sh
Quote:#!/bin/bash

ACTION=$1
DEVBASE=$2
DEVICE="/dev/${DEVBASE}"

case "${ACTION}" in
    add)
        /usr/bin/udisksctl mount -b ${DEVICE}
        ;;
    remove)
        /usr/bin/udisksctl unmount -b ${DEVICE}
        ;;
esac



Don't forget to chmod -x mountusb.sh it can be called anything and put anywhere, obvious use your path in the usb-mount@.service file.

I found rebooting the phone more reliable than 

Quote:udevadm control --reload-rules

systemctl daemon-reload



EDIT: Check the Second Post, I forgot the polkit edit. If it works without it great, but I am sure it was critical... (end EDIT)

After just plug in a usb and it should auto mount. 

I did manage to get a sound to play, but that was a whole other story and twice as painful as getting the usb working.

Hope it's useful to someone Big Grin
Don't miss the Doughnut by looking through the hole.
  Reply
#2
Best laid plans!. I missed an edit.

 /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.UDisks2.policy

in the first section <action id="org.freedesktop.udisks2.filesystem-mount">


Quote:<defaults>
      <allow_any>auth_admin</allow_any>
      <allow_inactive>auth_admin</allow_inactive>
      <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
    </defaults>


change to 

Quote:<defaults>
      <allow_any>yes</allow_any>
      <allow_inactive>yes</allow_inactive>
      <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
    </defaults>


I did so many tests I forgot about this. If it works without it please tell me. I'm sure it was critical but I'm human and obviously make mistakes
Don't miss the Doughnut by looking through the hole.
  Reply
#3
This can be easier with AUR (assuming you have yay or whatever other helper):

Code:
yay -S usbmount

The project is stale, looks abandoned and hasn't received commits for a few years but it worked on everything that has systemd and relies on systemd handling the mounting.



have been using it on headless raspberries for years and up to now no issues were observed
  Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Updating Arch Linux _radv_ 8 754 02-20-2024, 09:35 AM
Last Post: _radv_
  PinePhone AND/OR PinePhone Pro Arch Complete Install and Setup mikehenson 2 2,211 01-14-2024, 08:43 AM
Last Post: shifras
  How to install arch with FDE user641 3 745 01-11-2024, 10:18 PM
Last Post: Kevin Kofler
  How to find software app, on Arch Phosh? general_lee 5 1,888 10-15-2023, 10:12 PM
Last Post: Kevin Kofler
  Arch with FDE user641 1 889 07-29-2023, 08:27 AM
Last Post: alpineduck
  No keyboard on Arch Plasma when entering password on document Chief 0 836 12-03-2022, 08:35 PM
Last Post: Chief
  Curious About Arch Ferriah 2 2,115 11-07-2022, 04:38 PM
Last Post: Ferriah
  Latest version Arch Plasma looks good. Chief 5 2,402 10-23-2022, 01:53 PM
Last Post: Chief
  Evolution no longer runs on Arch Phosh. Chief 2 1,369 10-17-2022, 07:22 AM
Last Post: Chief
  Reticulum's Nomadnet (mesh net) on Arch ARM PineFone 0 820 10-16-2022, 08:28 AM
Last Post: PineFone

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)