How to get instant email notifications
Hi, for work, I really need immediate, clear notification of any email I get. I got geary working, but it didn't really offer this, and I didn't see a way to get it to do so in the settings. Any tips? Thanks!
No idea, I am new to postmarketOS.

On mainline linux you could use inotify to wait for changes to the email folder/file and then play a sound Smile
(06-06-2021, 04:16 AM)stozi Wrote: Hi, for work, I really need immediate, clear notification of any email I get. I got geary working, but it didn't really offer this, and I didn't see a way to get it to do so in the settings. Any tips? Thanks!
It works for me with Geary on Manjaro Phosh and an IMAP account. I get an immediate notification with the subject line of the email. There is also a setting in Geary's menu for always checking for new mail, maybe that helps? I didn't activate it though, I get immediate notifications nonetheless. This only works while the phone is not sleeping like everything else except calls and SMS.
(06-06-2021, 04:16 AM)stozi Wrote: Hi, for work, I really need immediate, clear notification of any email I get. I got geary working, but it didn't really offer this, and I didn't see a way to get it to do so in the settings. Any tips? Thanks!

Stozi did you find that this works? Or are you still unable to get an immediate notification?
Has anyone done a comparison between geary and epiphany with respect to immediacy of notifications? I think the android gmail app will be hard to beat in this respect...
The Android Gmail app is using a service in the background where a delivery notification is pushed from the remote end of a connection to google (not gmail.)