Python3 Bridge SMS/MMS to Matrix using Modem Manager and MMSD
Hey all,

I've got a pretty rough python3 script that I'm working on right now. It takes SMS and MMS messages from the PinePhone (Tested on PMos and Mobian) and bridges them to a Matrix server.

for SMSes I talk directly to Modem Manager via the dbus and MMSes require mmsd from kop316 https://forum.pine64.org/showthread.php?tid=12491

I've uninstalled chatty on my testing device as it also interacts directly with the modem.I did this because i think it'll cause problems if its running at the same time. I'm still pretty new to programming and definitely not a developer. Just a Linux admin who hates using his cellphone when I'm already at a keyboard. So far no one else has written anything so I have to.

If you're interested in helping me please let me know! I'd love to get someone who has experience to make this better.

Cheers!
This looks really cool! Yeah I might be able to help you with this, especially since I've already worked on the code before. After what you said in the other thread, I was looking into switching to matrix-nio too, but I haven't had any spare time at all, so its great that you beat me to it.

The nice part about using purple is it integrates with the chatty ui, so messages sent on matrix show up in chatty and theoretically the other way around is possible, but I haven't implemented that. But since chatty is eventually going to be moving purple-mm-sms into chatty itself, my script will no longer work, so your method is future proof. I think there are plans to add a dbus api to chatty itself, but I'm not sure if it will have all the features needed for proper matrix bridging.

Either way thank you for doing this! I'll see if I can try it out at some point. And I've been meaning to checkout Chris's mmsd implementation(I'm over a month late on this), so this will force me to do that.