SimpNas server with docker - home assistant, radicale , jellyfin & esphome (tutorial)
Outdated Tutorial: Please use as a guide only

Hi all,

I've been meaning to write this tutorial since last year , now right out of the gate I will say I am far from an expert.

This is how I set up my NAS Server and docker containers , but I will gladly accept any critique of my setup and advice to better secure or improve the overall setup.

To start with I did try OpenMediaVault, I got everything how I wanted it, however I felt that OpenMediaVault was too bloated for my needs and a little complicated in some of its options. Whilst on the Armbian forum ,seeking advice for getting the fan to work properly for my server (yes I did try tuxd3v 's ATS fan configuration but this didn't work after using a later kernel to get my sata card to work  (more on that later)).

I discovered SimpNAS , I posted a thread on this forum for all who are interested . SimpNAS was exactly what I was looking for , simple, elegant and easy .

So to begin I setup OpenMediaVault and long story short I had issues with the pine64 supplied Sata card , I wont go in to detail here as there are many threads that describe this issue, here is some slight insight

So I bought  a marvell 88SE9230 Sata card , which so far has been absolutely amazing , rock solid no matter what I throw at it, but to use said card I had to use a newer kernel which as described in the thread resulted in me not being able to use ATS to control the fan.

Now down to business , I have a rockpro64 with NAS case , tall heatsink , case fan, a marvell 88SE9230 Sata card, 2 SSD drives and a very decent SD card , the software is Armbian , with SimpNAS and docker installed and 6 containers  -  Nginx,  Portainer,  Homeassistant , Radicale caldav server , Jellyfin media server and EspHome for my home automation gadgets. home assistant and radicale are exposed to internet so they are accessible from outside my local network .