Why can't Pinebook Pro have TOR browser and other programs?
I am an extreme novice when it comes to Linux computers in fact up until I bought this Pinebook Pro I've never actually a Linux computer in my life. I remember reading that the hardware of the ARM 64 device doesn't allow certain capabilities which is why its not possible (at present) to use TOR browser and other common programs that you can find on the MAC and Windows computers and perhaps other Linux
I've used TOR on arm Linux on the past. At least five years ago, anyway.

ARM isn't crippled compared to x86/x64. It's just less popular. x86 really is a lousy design.

The only things you won't be able to run without emulation are closed-source, especially most commercial softwares. But really, a lot of that stuff runs on Linux now too.
(12-07-2020, 04:05 PM)KC9UDX Wrote: I've used TOR on arm Linux on the past.  At least five years ago, anyway.

ARM isn't crippled compared to x86/x64.  It's just less popular.  x86 really is a lousy design.

The only things you won't be able to run without emulation are closed-source, especially most commercial softwares.  But really, a lot of that stuff runs on Linux now too.

I can't seem to find TOR browser in the Package Manager. It's vexing.

I am a big newbie to all this so I don't know what x86 or x64 means. Could you explain what those two terms mean?

Below is the information about my Pinebook Pro and the OS and stuff its running at the moment.

Manjaro-ARM

Software
KDE Plasma Version: 5.20.3
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.76.0
Qt Version: 5.15.1
Kernel Version: 5.7.19-1-MANJARO-ARM
OS Type: 64-bit

Hardware
Processors: 6 x
Memory: 3.7 GiB of RAM
Graphics Processor: Mali T860