forgot sudo password
im a complete beginner with linux,  i bought a pinebook pro with manjaro and i totally forgot the sudo password. any help would be greatly apprecited
Uh, the SUDO password is the same as your user's password. That's the whole purpose of SUDO. Not using the "root" password.

So if you know your login password, you can use SUDO.
--
Arwen Evenstar
Princess of Rivendale
I'm afraid I set my keyboard up wrong then. The other day I got a pop up on something about something not working right because I wasn't set up right because it wasn't a german keyboard. Idk
I have a similar question, if I may piggyback. When I type in my user password for SUDO, it gives me an error. It's the same password I use to unlock it when I cut it on.
In a terminal, type "passwd" and change your password to something new and write it down. This is the password for your user account.

Also type "passwd root" and give the root account a different password and write that one down.

When you use `sudo` and are prompted for a password, use your user account password. If that doesn't work, you'll need to log in as root, or, `su`, and add your username to a group that has permission to use `sudo`. Consult the manual for sudo, `man sudo`.
(09-26-2020, 05:21 PM)KC9UDX Wrote: In a terminal, type "passwd" and change your password to something new and write it down.  This is the password for your user account.

Also type "passwd root" and give the root account a different password and write that one down.

When you use `sudo` and are prompted for a password, use your user account password.  If that doesn't work, you'll need to log in as root, or, `su`, and add your username to a group that has permission to use `sudo`.  Consult the manual for sudo, `man sudo`.
Thanks a bunch, but when I type "passed," it asks for the current password. When I type that in, I still get an Authentication failure error.