PINE64
Changing Desktop Environments? - Printable Version

+- PINE64 (https://forum.pine64.org)
+-- Forum: PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=120)
+--- Forum: PinePhone Software (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=121)
+---- Forum: Mobian on PinePhone (https://forum.pine64.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=139)
+---- Thread: Changing Desktop Environments? (/showthread.php?tid=15719)

Pages: 1 2

Changing Desktop Environments? - Ferriah - 01-08-2022

Hey all,

I am a bit new to Linux, (been usin it for about a year and a half). I just got my Pinephone, and I'm really happy with it! I like Mobian a lot, and don't want to switch from it, however I really do not like how the homescreen on Phosh looks. I always prefer to have a very clean homescreen with no icons. From my understandin, there's no way to do that with Phosh, unless I learn how to program my own app drawer... I'm currently learnin Python but it will be a long while before I will have the skill to do that. I really liked how the homescreen looked on Plasma Mobile. From what I'm seein on Mobian's Wiki page, it looks like switchin desktop environments to Plasma is currently broken. 

Recently I saw this, https://www.itsfoss.net/cutie-shell-new-user-interface-for-linux-phones-and-more/ and was wonderin if there's a way to do Mobian +Cutie. It looks cool, and while I don't have a whole lot of programmin know how I don't mind usin the terminal and learnin things. 

I was also wonderin (this might be a dumb question... sorry) if you switch desktop environments, do you also have to switch apps? For example I really like Chatty and have it currently all set up. Would I have to change over to a different chat app that ships with cutie? Or is that not somethin that gets changed when you switch desktop environments. 

Really appreciate any replies!

RE: Changing Desktop Environments? - ryo - 01-08-2022